We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel, Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #186 of 449 hotels in New York City
Milford, Oh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small hotel, Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

At first, I was a little taken aback at the size of the hotel. Outside façade is fun and funky with patterned colored tiles. Pretty small, more like a boutique, which is fine. No frills lobby but clean. A couple of high top tables to work on the computer and a front desk.
We came to NYC for Thanksgiving with family and had quite a delay getting to the hotel to check in but the staff was very pleasant and helpful over the phone with late check in and directions. No valet services but parking the car was easy, a garage only 3 doors down the street.
Small but clean room. We had a king size bed and it was very comfortable. Bathroom was nice and clean too. We were on the 5th floor and it was generally very quiet.
There is an Italian restaurant attached which offered 3 different combos for breakfast. As I am gluten-free, we didn't eat there because of the limited options.
We did enjoy a nightcap in the bar one evening. Friendly staff there.
The location was great, right around the corner from the Flat Iron building and Eaterly. Lots of places to eat and just a couple of blocks from the subway.
Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about how to get around by subway and they had umbrellas for us to purchase on a very rainy day.
Only problem was that the TV remote didn't work very well and it wasn't replaced, but we weren't there to watch TV anyway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Chelsea. We appreciate your review highlighting our location and amenities. I appreciate your kind words towards are team and will be sure to share your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I apologize for the difficulty you experienced with the television remote. Rest assured, your concerns have been communicated to our staff to ensure the issue is resolved. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to New York City.

Carlton Yee
General Manager
WyndhamNYC.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    438
    166
    50
    29
See reviews for
180
290
96
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Arrived early on Monday before official check in time and was able to get a room immediately. Rooms are small but beds were fabulous! Staff was friendly and housekeepers polite. I had read other reviews and was a little secptical....however I was on a lower floor by the elevator and noise was at a minimum (I am from NYC originally) so the noise was of no consequence. Location of the hotel is excellent near almost all subway lines and the PATH so getting around was really easy. Restaurants in the area were plentiful and offered a good variety. All in all I had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Thanksgiving with the Wyndham Garden Hotel Chelsea. We look forward to your next stay with us.


Carlton Yee
General Manager
wyndhamnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location is great. Not far from the yellow or orange subway lines (a couple blocks). The rooms are very clean but small but that didn't bother me (think european in regards to room size). The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet (not much street noise). I would definitely stay here again although the Marriott Midtown and Doubletree have larger rooms but they weren't available for Thanksgiving week w/o paying a fortune. I thought this hotel was reasonable price-wise for a holiday week and for its location. Staff was friendly but we only said hello in passing - didn't use them to book any tours, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for the very detailed reviewed of our hotel and your experience in Chelsea. We appreciate you staying with us. I will certainly share your kind words with the team.

I hope that you will stay with us the next time you visit Manhattan.

Carlton Yee
General Manager
wyndhamnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The location is great, but the staff is not always helpful, rooms quite small, especially if uou consider the price we payed! Overall experience was good, but what really let us down was some of the services that they are supposed to provide for trips/transfers: the lady who was responsible for the trips was not very well informed about what was available (we wanted to go to Woodbury outlet & she spent about 30' to find out if they have the tickets for the trip...that she didn't because she run out). But the worst part was the transfer we booked to go to the airport (JFK)... We booked the service for the date/time we wanted, we were waiting in the reception 15' before the expected time & the driver apparently came earlier, collected 2 other people and left!!! Then we had to wait for another 10'-15' for the driver to get back to the hotel and collect us as well...since nobody told him how many people he has to collect, and of course he never asked if anyone is waiting for him! Anyway after finding the driver, we realised that the vehicle was a small van, that could fit 7 people, but the van already had 7 people inside, that were from different hotels! Of course we had to squeeze in the van and also hold our luggage with us...since everyone had at least one big suitcase...and not all of them could fit in the boot at the back! So 9 people were squeezed in that van, holding our luggage and then doing a tour around New York...since we went to JFK via la guardia! So that was about 2 hours drive, and as you can imagine at the end the driver was waiting for a tip...even though when we paid for our transfer we were said that the tip was included in the price!! Really disappointed with that, really bad for the hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your time at our hotel. The experience you had transportation is unacceptable. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that I may address it promptly. I would like to disucss this matter with you in detail as customer service is our priority.

We hope you will stay with us during your next trip to Manhattan.


Carlton Yee
General Manager
wyndhamnyc.com
212-243-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed at the Wyndham Garden for three nights, and were very happy about our stay. The best thing about the hotel is that you can pretty much walk to most stuff around Manhatten. We arrived and departed at Penn Station and walk from there to and from the hotel in about 15 minutes, without the hazzle of having to get a cab. Saves money, but most of all the hazzle of having to wait in line and so on.

Our two days we spend walking to different parts of Manhatten. We walked from the hotel to Fifth Avenue, Central Park and the Whitney Museum on 65th street one day, and to Soho and Meatpacking the other. My point is; the location is just really great for doing pretty much any tourist acitivty in Manhatten. And that is a big plus in our book.

The rooms are small, but modern and nicely decorated. The beds are great, and the bathroom was of good size. The rooms also have wifi. Altoghether, the hotel has pretty much everything we want in a NY-hotel, at a reasonable price. It is a no-frills hotel of good standard, and great location. And there are lots of the restaurants around as well. We would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Chelsea. We appreciate your review highlighting our location and amenities. Our complimentary internet, adjacent Italian restaurant, Bath and Body works amenities, and pillowtop mattresses by Simmons are a small sample of all we have to offer. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Carlton Yee
General Manager
wyndhamnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West

Address: 37 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Wyndham Garden Chelsea is located in Chelsea/Flatiron District. Chelsea is filled with chic art galleries, bars & clubs, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to world-famous Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy’s/Herald Square, Empire State Building, Union Square and NYU. The hotel is one block from New York City’s subway system. The surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, Midtown and Gramercy.All rooms are smoke-free and include; MP3 & iPod connections, flat panel televisions, cordless phones, Wolfgang Puck in-room coffee and Herman Miler ergonomic desk chairs. Additionally, the hotel complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.