We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably small room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #185 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unbelievably small room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I normally love Wyndham properties, but this was absolutely one of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. It was literally about 8' x 12' with two double beds, a small table and chair, and a small cabinet all squeezed in, then the bathroom where sitting on the toilet your knees rub against the shower curtain for the standing shower (and water goes all over the the bathroom floor when showering), and the sink is so small there's barely any room to set your toiletries on. For well over $400 per night, even in NYC, this is a horrible value. Other than the size, the room was clean, and the bed comfortable, although I was surprised that in NYC they didn't have YES network on the TV.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for feedback regarding your stay at the Wyndham Garden Chelsea Hotel. We want to ensure that your feedback is noted and we have addressed your concerns with our management team. We apologize if the size of our rooms were not sufficient to your needs. Our double occupancy rooms are approximately 200 square feet which is comparable to many New York City hotels in the area at our price range. We also offer upgraded suites based upon availability that can accomodate 2-4 persons at a fee. We will be more than happy to ensure that all your lodging needs will be met the next time you are in the NYC area. Please contact me directly at (212) 243-0800.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    527
    192
    58
    32
See reviews for
217
360
109
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay to visit family in NYC. This hotel is perfectly situated in the buzzing Flat Iron neighborhood and convenient to several subway lines. The front desk staff at the hotel are uniformly pleasant and efficient. I did not avail myself of concierge services as I was so familiar with the area andManhattan I general and had a pretty set agenda for the long weekend.
The rooms are small but efficient. Some may find the "wardrobe" a bit awkward but Europeans should be quite used to it. The toiletries provided are nice, there. A blow drier, enough towels and washcloths and bedding is comfy. My room(807) was quiet and faced inward. I never heard the elevator but one night thought I heard snoring from e adjacent room. There is a restaurant,Trestelle, in the building and they offer a discount toward breakfast for guests. I did not trait but we had drinks outside on their patio one night and service was great!

Room Tip: Ask for inside room to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for feedback regarding your stay at the Wyndham Garden Chelsea Hotel. We are so happy to hear that everything was 100% satisfactory. Our rooms on the back side of the hotel will definitely get you a good night’s rest. Tre Stelle has some great indoor and outdoor seating with a fantastic menu. We are glad you enjoyed the outdoor patio seating. We hope you return to our property again shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Top sheet dirty when we checked in. Dust everywhere (wall corners in the bedroom + shelves and lamp in the bathroom...). Mould in the shower. General cleanliness requires improvements, especially considering the price of the place!!

Towel rack for one towel only, and really huge water flow in the shower = not ecological. Imagine how many people take a shower everyday in NYC, it's important to reduce water consumption!!

Bed mattress was too much soft.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel? Upper floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for providing your lodging experience with us. We do apologize for the bathroom cleanliness and rest assured your feedback has been accounted for. We have already replaced our shower curtains in the majority of our guest rooms. We appreciate your feedback and if you need additional assistance regarding your stay, please contact me directly at (212) 243-0800. We will be happy to accommodate your future needs and to alleviate all of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKLAND
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Convenient friendly place to stay for business in or around Union Square. Rooms are quite small, and noise was a bit of a problem. But overall OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Wyndham Garden Chelsea Hotel. We are happy you found our establishment friendly and convenient. We apologize if there were any noise disturbances during your stay. We do have quieter rooms rooms towards the back side of the hotel should you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHMOND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We like staying at the Wyndham at this location. This stay ouroom was very tight, so we will be more careful in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your stay at the Wyndham Garden Chelsea Hotel. We are happy you enjoyed staying with us. We do offer uprades to our premium rooms based upon availability at a cost. Please contact the hotel directly to reserve your next stay and ask us about our larger room options. We would love for you to try them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOLTON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Located perfectly between Times Square, Central Park/shopping, meat packing district and downtown.
Hotel is very New York...tall and skinny. Room was very clean and washroom was much nicer than any standard holiday inn etc..
We asked to move from our original room because the view was poor....we left for the day, when we returned our bags were waiting in our new improved room.
The receptionist "Winnie" was very friendly and accommodating.
Overall a perfect stay. Will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Wyndham Garden Chelsea hotel. I am pleased to know you had a wonderful stay. Being centrally located in Manhattan, it’s the perfect location to easily travel to iconic destinations as you have mentioned. I am glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a perfect hotel experience. We will celebrate your kind words with Winnie and look forward to your return on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West

Address: 37 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Wyndham Garden Chelsea is located in Chelsea/Flatiron District. Chelsea is filled with chic art galleries, bars & clubs, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to world-famous Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, Empire State Building, Union Square and NYU. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. The surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, Midtown and Gramercy.All rooms are smoke-free and include; MP3 & iPod connections, flat panel televisions, cordless phones, Wolfgang Puck in-room coffee and Herman Miler ergonomic desk chairs. Additionally, the hotel offers complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.