We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hakata Ippudo NY

Hakata Ippudo NY
65 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-5220 (Greenwich Village)
212-388-0088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 NEW

The best ramen you can have in NY! Completely enjoyed the food and the experience. Its a very lively place and very good staff. I dont quite remember the exact ramen I had, but I do remember tasting everybody else' ramen on the table with me :P and it all tasted good. For those who like spicy food, please ask for the extra spicy sauce since most of the choices are low in spice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    115
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Long wait but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 via mobile

Had to wait about 45 minutes to get a table on a Thursday around 1pm. There are several retail shops around that you can visit if you don't want to stay at the restaurant to wait (in our case, it was way too crowded in the waiting area). As expected, the ramen was good but the regular size was not very filling. Still worth it to at least try the place and know what the "best ramen" tastes like.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Very welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

So as I was in the neighbourhood trying to figure out where to lunch before flying back to San Francisco, I came across this little place. I totally love the way the servers all shout out in unison when you walk in to welcome to the place. The ramen was amazing. Will defo be back.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“still the best ramen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

great ramen house in NYC. Long wait (1.5hrs) though but the food was worth every minute. very near the subway exit so quite convenient

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good dinner at a cheap price, but endless queue to have a table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

That's all in the title. We waited 2hrs (240 minutes, really) to have a table. The place is very crowded and most of the people is not really waiting in the restaurant, they have walked in early and they have left the name; then the restaurant call them back when the table is almost available. The problem is that they don't call foreign cell phones (I am Italian), so we had to wait there instead of going to take an aperitif somewhere else.

The question I have is: why do I need to walk in to leave my name in the queue while I can do that by phone and then walk in after one hour and half instead of waiting 2 hours in the restaurant ?????

If you can mange this, the Ramen are awesome, the best I have ever tried.!!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakata Ippudo NY also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hakata Ippudo NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakata Ippudo NY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.