We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay. Friendly staff. Good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #138 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice stay. Friendly staff. Good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Candlewood Suites is located just off 8th Ave on W.39th St. Making it a relatively short walk to the (extremely) busy hustle and bustle of Times Sq and the area of midtown which houses the main shopping areas. The rooms are very comfortable and offer a small kitchen area. Comfortable beds and good pillows. Nice and clean although you must request when your room requires a service. Theres a great Irish pub if you turn left out of the door, with great food and a handy late opening liquor store. There is a small shop in the lobby for essentials (milk, toiletries etc). Friendly reception staff make this accommodation a good if not completely luxurious choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hello from the Candlewood Suites Times Square family! We appreciate your time in leaving us your feedback about your experience during your stay! We are happy to hear that our staff made a positive impact on your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Teresa Valenzuela
Candlewood Suties Times Square
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    534
    115
    24
    24
See reviews for
174
644
116
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

comments on the 2 of the 3 rooms on the 1st floor... try to avoid them. While the lobby is stylin and the staff friendly, we got the last rooms available..1 had visible stain on the counter, the other had a wornout rug although it was the handicap accessible rm, but that's no excuse for the handle on the closet that just fell off when I tried to open it. Hard to believe they're called "studio suites", thought they were tiny. Bathroom was clean.. liked the tile. linens looked up-to-date & in good shape.. liked the hefty waffle type towels. We could hear the lobby music in both rooms in the middle of the night as well as people talking loudly, but that 1 room is right by the elevator.. try to get a different room.

Room Tip: not the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations and we hope that you can give us another opportunity to WOW you!!
Again, Thank you and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Candlewood Suites is located just 7 or 8 minutes walking from the heart of times square. Port Authority buststation is also just a 3 minute walk.

Loved the staff and workers at the hotel. Very friendly and helping with everything.

The rooms are nice and clean. Not too big, but this is Times Square we are talking about. Perfect for 2 people.

This hotel also provides 24h services for all of their facilities like the gym, the kiosk and the front desk. Movie rental is complimentary and this also 24h a day.

I would recommend this hotel and if ever I go back, I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi there and thank you for your feedback! We appreciate that you took the time to leave us a review and we are delighted to hear that you would come back and stay again! Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I actually loved having the kitchenette in these suites - this little place is very quiet, the rooms are huge, and it is very nicely located just up the block from the Hells Kitchen Flea Market! Yes, you have to be OK with keeping the same sheets for a week, but for me that was perfect. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: My room on the 5th floor right next to the elevator was wonderfully quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Greetings from your home away from home,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. I am happy your stay was amazing and we were able to meet all of your expectations. Please visit us soon and don’t forget to contact me in advance when you do!

Warmest Regards,

Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
P. 212-967-2254
F. 212-967-4110
monica.narvaez@hhmlp.com
339 West 39th Street
New York | NY | 10018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Roberts, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just stayed here for 3 nights.Close to everything with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff.
Rooms clean and good size for New York standards.Will stay there again.Subway,trains,buses.,theatres and Times Square all within walking distance

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Greetings from NYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so happy our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay and you found our location ideal for your travel needs. Please visit us soon and don’t forget to contact us in advance.

Warmest Regards,

Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
Candlewood Suites in Times Square
339 west 39th street
New York, Ny 10018
Monica.Narvaez@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Was unhappy to learn that rooms are only serviced by house keeping every 8 days. The breakfast was served in the hotel next door, and it was chaotic.

The location is the only good thing about this hotel. And the staff were nice as well. Otherwise, I'd avoid this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your feedback on your most recent stay. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you might have encountered. We are an extended stay hotel which does not offer daily room service. We are a bit different than other properties in the area. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations but I do thank you for your time and patronage. Safe and happy travels!

Warmest Regards,

Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
P. 212-967-2254
F. 212-967-4110
monica.narvaez@hhmlp.com
339 West 39th Street
New York | NY | 10018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just come back 12-16 April room 1302.Staff very helpful,rooms small but very clean, fantastic location.Would recommend would definitely go again.Kind regards Maria and Tom Ellis Stockport England.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Good day,

Thank you very much for taking the opportunity to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay! I am happy our accommodations, service and staff attention was everything you asked for and more. I look forward to your return and please visit us soon.

Warmest Regards,
Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
Candlewood Suites in Times Square
339 west 39th street
New York, Ny 10018
Monica.Narvaez@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. Check out our great, extended stay New York City hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.