We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choise close to Times Square!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #138 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A good choise close to Times Square!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Candlewood Suites is a concept of an apartment hotel. It is located very well, in the proximity of Times Square, but away from its noise and traffic, actually is no more than 10 minutes walking from Times Square.

The neighborhood is very safe; it is in the middle of Garment District.

I stayed at Candlewood Suites 4 nights and I was very pleased with the conditions I found there. The reception guys were very nice, ready to help with any advice you need. There is a small shop within the reception area where you can buy snacks and drinks, which was quite helpful

My room was at 10th floor and although had a street view I couldn’t hear any noise coming from the street. The room was equipped with everything you need (internet, a comfortable bed mattress, kitchen items such as fridge, all kind of cutleries, etc). Heating air system worked perfectly, hot water in the bathroom all the time.

Due to this suite concept, the only thing I found funny was that you have to ask in the reception to have your trash disposed from your room, as cleaning is probably done at request – at least this was my impression (eventually you rent an apartment so you don’t benefit of all services found within a hotel, although the building and rooms look like a hotel). Also there is no breakfast in the morning; this is the reason for which every room has a kitchen area inside.

All in all I was very satisfied staying at Candlewood Suites and I would com back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello and thank you for your wonderful review! I am glad you were able to take advantage of the amenities we offer at our property. We like to give our guest the freedom to feel at home with minimal disturbances. Thank you for choosing us and we hope you continue to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    534
    115
    24
    24
See reviews for
174
644
116
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 11 night in June 2013 & had an excellent time. The location is perfect, not too busy but close enough to the attractions & Times Square. I emailed the hotel prior to our visit requesting a room with a view & the staff were more than happy to oblige.

The hotle was comfortable & had a little 'cupboard' (shop) of amenities which was handy- some things were expensive but there is a shop just on the corner so we also used that. Free coffee & cookies were provided daily!

The staff were friendly, welcoming & very helpful.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Greetings from the Candlewood Suites in Times Square family,

Thank you for your kind words on your experience in our property. I am so happy to hear your stay was absolutely wonderful and you will definitely be coming back! We like you treat our guest as family and I am happy you felt at home. We look forward to your return. Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

i had found out about the chain while consulting in Omaha back in 2010. Was very surprised by the amenities and the friendliness of the staff out there. Well the same held true for the NY location on West 39th. Same amenities, same friendly staff. Clean and convenient to times square and the subway. I firmly believe you cannot go wrong with Candlewood.

Room Tip: Even the room next to the elevator was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Greetings from the big apple,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us and our traveler community. I am glad the experience you have received from IHG has been constant in always delivering excellence! We like to “build hotels guest love”. Thank you for your time and we look forward to your next trip to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay...we booked our room through groupon so we got an awesome deal, and check In was very easy even though we got to the hotel around 12am...our room was roomy and clean and had an awesome view...the bed was absolutely amazing..slept like a baby...overall the staff were awesome...my only complaint was there is no room service or and food options,
They only have the cupboard that is not well stocked..but I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Greetings from New York,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad your stay was amazing! Perhaps the next time you’re staying with us we can have a few restaurant recommendation menus ready for your arrival that deliver. Please contact us in advance on your next arrival. We will be sure to wow you with our service once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed for four nights in late December. Friendly and accommodating staff, clean and comfy hotel. The staff try hard, but in a laid-back, non-pressured way. The elevators are very fast. Glad we stayed here instead of the Hampton next door (apparently owned by the same company), because it always seemed so crowded with loads of tour-bus people. You can request maid service (at a price) if you want to but they'll come in and change your towels and empty garbage upon request.

We had a corner room on the 26th floor and it was very quiet. Free laundry with lots of washers and dryers!

Green Features: Good idea to have towel service only upon request.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Greetings from the Candlewood Suites in Times Square Family,

Thank you for your kind words. I am so happy your stay was everything you expected and more. Our staff do tries their best to ensure each our guest stay is wonderful and memorable. We think of you as family and we treat you as such from the moment you walk out of that taxi, shuttle and enter the door step. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The room was small but was expected in NYC. This hotel says it's in Times Square but it's at least a 10 min walk to Times Square and is closer to garment district. It didn't bother me because you have to expect to do a lot of walking in a city like New York. I also liked how things in garment district were cheaper and felt more like what New York should be. I cannot express how impressed I was by hotel staff and all the amenities available, it really felt like home. Free laundry services (just bring your own detergent or can buy no-name detergent from the hotel), free DVD rentals, free computer/Internet, full kitchen and free printing was a lifesaver. The Noise didn't bother me and the lack of view is to be expected. However after taxes and booking fees I paid close to $300 a night and stayed for 4 nights so it wasn't cheap, but would definitely come back to this hotel next time!

Some tips for New York- Make sure you print your city pass confirmation because they will make you leave and bring a print version (electronic smart phone version is not accepted) Do not take a cab from the airport! It cost me $115 (even though I was quoted $63 plus toll fees). They make you pay return toll fees, tax, service charge and tip. You are much better off taking a shared shuttle service, we used super shuttle for our return and it only cost $15 per person. Actually you can technically take the subway to la guardia and john f Kennedy airports but large luggages would be an issue.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Greetings from New York,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you felt like home staying with us and our staff made such a wonderful lasting impression. We look forward to your next booking and please do not hesitate in contacting us in advance. Safe and Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The room is kind of small but it was nice and clean.
Bed was comfortable and both of us slept well.
The airconditioning and fridge was on the noisy side but we got used to it and it didn't bother us that much.

The kitchen had everything we needed, although some more plates and cutlery would be nice.

Bathroom was small but had everything we needed and was in nice condition. Towels was stored on shelves above the bathtub, bad place for towels as they get damp during showering. Would like some more hooks to hang stuff from in the bathroom.

Staff was nice and polite, always friendly when we talked to them. The free wash and dry in the basement was a really nice touch.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Greetings from the City that never sleeps,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us. We greatly appreciate you choosing our hotel as you accommodation of choice while visiting the city. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences and I do hope you continue to choose us in the future. Thank you for your time and I hope you have a wonderful week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. Check out our great, extended stay New York City hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.