We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #114 of 449 hotels in New York City
1 review
“Amazing accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous location and excellent accomodatiom and service! Rooms are clean, equiped with everything and cozy. I do recommend booking there, if you are searching for a place in the middle of Times Square.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Greetings from the big apple!

Thank you for your recommendations to our traveler community. I am happy to read your stay was amazing and memorable. We are pleased to have been a part of such an amazing trip to the big apple. Once more thank you for choosing us and don’t forget to contact us on your next adventure. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    553
    468
    93
    21
    18
See reviews for
131
549
104
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent two nights at Candlewood Suites end of Sept 2013. Staff was very accommodating and the rooms were larger than expected complete with refrigerator/microwave/sink/dishwasher. Price was very competitive for Manhattan location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Greetings from Candlewood Suites in Times Square,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am happy our accommodations were to your liking and you found our location ideal for your travel needs. We look forward to your return and please contact us in advance when you make your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have given five stars because for location, value for money and quality of staff this hotel would be hard to beat in New York. NY is a very expensive place to stay, not helped by usurious taxes. We stayed four nights for a bit over $300 a night all up and for that you don't get much in most hotels in Manhattan.

This hotel is in a narrow unpretentious building and is certainly not luxurious. But it is relatively modern and very clean. The room (on the fifth floor) was modestly furnished but had everything needed for our stay. The free internet worked well, the small but well equipped kitchen was a bonus, it had an opening window as well as very effective air conditioning and the bathroom was perfectly adequate. We checked in early with no trouble and the staff (as they were throughout our stay) were friendly and helpful.

We didn't mind that there was no room servicing during our stay - in fact it made the four days hassle free. We used the modern (and again free) laundry machines before we left which was convenient.

The location was great - close to Times Square and theatres, near to the subway and there were plenty of small supermarkets, drug stores and restaurants close by. We had dinner twice in the Mediterranean restaurant more or less across the road and would highly recommend it. Surprisingly, given that we were on the fifth floor, the noise level overnight from the street below was not as noticeable as during other stays in New York.

If we returned to New York we would have no hesitation staying at this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Greetings from the Candlewood Suites in Times Square family,


Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us, we are so happy your stay was excellent and memorable! I am sure our traveler community will benefit from your review and as always thank you for choosing us. We certainly look forward to your next arrival. Safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in September and was extremely impressed with this hotel. it is spotlessly clean, rooms are a good size (even for 2 sharing) and the kitchen area is an added bonus as it meant I didn't have to eat out every time. I was on the 31st floor and had a fantastic view of the Empire State Building and the Hudson River. A collective thank you to all staff - front desk, housekeeping and service engineers. You made my first stay in a New York Hotel extremely welcoming. It's close to loads of bars, restaurants and is a short distance from the bustle of Times Square. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend this friendly hotel to anyone lookng for a really good hotel without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: For a better view of the city request a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings from your home away from home in Times Square!

Thank you for your kind review; we are humbled by your words. Our staff cannot thank you enough for choosing our location as your home for your first visit to the city. I am glad we were able to make such a positive impact on your stay and we look forward to hosting your 2nd trip in NY. Please contact us in advance we would like to have a special welcome prepared for your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place was an amazing bargain for NYC - a shining star example for what a Candlewood can be too. Most Candlewoods are sort of low service extended stay places - not this one. Its got the benefits of an extended stay - spacious (for NYC) with cooking capabilities BUT they have a great staff at the front desk too. Now I'm not saying its the Ritz but its clean, the desk is staffed and its well maintained - I can't say I had any issues at all. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings from the Candlewood Suites in Times Square family,

Thank you for such an amazing review on our property. I am happy our staff made you feel welcome and attended to your needs in a prompt and efficient manner. We will certainly look forward to your next trip in the city and please do not hesitate in contacting us in advance. Safe and Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Candlewood for 14 nights and were extremely pleased with our choice. Staff friendly, and room excellent for our stay. The kitchenette was great as it enabled us to have breakfast and the occasional meal in. The area is nearer to 42nd Street where there was a wonderful choice of restaurants within walking distance. The Mercato Italian restaurant opposite Candlewood was excellent and extremely busy and lively with New Yorkers. The other restaurant that was close by was Carbone Ristorante and they had just received Ospitalita Italiana Quality approval. We were there to help them celebrate this. (38th Street).
We were let down through a booking with Airbnb and this was a very rushed decision based on previous reviews with TripAdvisor and it did not disappoint. Good value for money. Cannot recommend the staff, hotel and location highly enough. Closer to Hells Kitchen area than Times Square. Walking distance to a lot of things to do eg. HiLine and also buses and Subway. Just around the corner from New York Times and there is a great Irish Pub in 39th Street where you can call in on your way back to the hotel after walking your feet off. Safe and Friendly area. Free WiFi , Kitchenette and efficient Laundry a real bonus.

Room Tip: We were on the 24th floor - view across the city. We did not use the A/C very much as we were able...
See more room tips
Green Features: Rubbish removed efficiently and towels supplied when needed. All staff friendly and willing to assist in any way.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for your wonderful review on the Candlewood Suites in Times Square! We are so happy we were able make your stay a memorable experience. Thank you once more for your kind words and we hope to see you soon in the city that never sleeps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing how much could be packed into a small room. A kitchenette with full-size fridge, stove, sink with food disposer, microwave, dishwasher (and a good selection of kitchenware); a great bed and linens; a recliner near the flat-screen TV; even a desk with two chairs. The bathroom didn't have a very big countertop, but there were plenty of towels and other supplies. I never had to call the front desk for anything. Of course, this being a New York hotel, street noise was a bit of a problem, but I was on the 7th floor, so it may be less noticeable on a higher floor. There's no restaurant or room service, but restaurants and cafes -- excellent ones -- are nearby. Overall, a carefree experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings from your home in New York City,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us. I am completely happy to hear your experience was satisfying and you found our location and amenities to your liking. Thank you once more for staying with us. We hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. Check out our great, extended stay New York City hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.