We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st expirience of USA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #139 of 457 Hotels in New York City
wrexham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“1st expirience of USA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The staff on the front desk were extremely friendly, pleasant and helpfull, nothing seemed too much trouble to them. We were very surprised at the room, it was spacious and very well equiped from the kitchen utensils to a large flat screen TV and DVD player. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We were advised by some people to request a room at the back of the hotel as the front could be very noisey with traffic and sirens all nite...we were on the 25th floor at the front and had no problems with noise at all! The hotel is also in an ideal position...close enough to all the attractions, eg Times Square but far enough away as not to be disturbed by all the noise. We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less noise you get from traffic and the view is going to be a little bit b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Good day and thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor.com. It is good to hear that our staff was able to leave a lasting impression. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and want to return again in the future. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    506
    108
    23
    21
See reviews for
151
607
112
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had planned our trip to New York even down to the hotel to stay at while there. The one we originally chose had shared bath facilities in some of their suites and we felt edgy staying there. Upon researching the area, we found Candlewood Suites. It had good reviews. The room was small but sufficient. Closet was tiny but we actually had just enough room for our eveningwear etc. The kitchen facilities were well stocked with dishes and utensils but not used by us much. We were on vacation. It could however prove useful to those on a budget. Television was a flat panel with Direct TV and a DVD player with DVD borrowing at the front desk. Free wi-fi is available but they change the password every Thursday (unbeknownst to us) The only real caveat is that the front desk personnel was ill trained and not onboard with one another. Our first day we asked for more coffee (maker is in room) We were told we would have to buy it from the commissary downstairs for the rest of our stay. First day was free though? The next day they handed us a few packs to use daily. There was a problem with the concierge panel in the lobby as well and it gave us directions that placed us about a mile from where we were headed. We called down several times one day to get clean washrags and finally had to physically go to the desk and get them. (They do not clean the room or replace things like this during a discounted extended stay) Good room, nice people and the central location is great. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the building across the alley. Seems to be the way to do it and stay quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Good day and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. Although you might have experienced some difficulties during your stay we are glad to hear that you will stay with us again. We would like to apologize for the miscommunications with our desk but we are glad that we were able to leave a good impression. It is great to know you were able to take advantage of our amenities. We hope to see you soon, until then happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We planned to spend 3 nights, but late the second night our son called to say that our family dog was near death. The next morning I notified the front desk that we would be leaving a day early. When the manager arrived I was told I would get a 50% refund for the last night. A few hours later we recieved a call informing us that she had been overruled and we would get no refund. I guess that is what you can expect from a property that charges $300 a night for a small room with no housekeeping at all unless you are staying a week or more. Worse, it took 45 minutes retrieve our car. We were told it was 20 minutes away, but the engine wasn't even warm when it came. Will NEVER stay at a Candlewood or associated property ever again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Greetings,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. First and foremost I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for our lack of compassion in your time of need. I can understand how an unfortunate event can cause change of plans thus needing to depart early from our hotel. The Candlewood Suites takes pride in making sure our guests feel welcome and at home while they are here, and rest assure that we have followed up with our staff to ensure that we may offer comfortable options to our guest’s difficult situations. We completely understand how this could have a negative impact on your overall stay and hope that in the future you may give us another chance to make this up to you. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly if you have further concerns or questions regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very impressed with this hotel - especially since it was one of the least expensive that came up on hotels.com. We prepaid, which made it less expensive still. Clean room, nicely set up, comfortable bed, quiet. It turned out great to have a kitchen even though we were not specicially looking for a suite. It was convienent to keep some food on hand so we did not have to eat every meal out. Good location with subway about a block away (A,C,E lines) and very close to Times Square. People at the front dest were friendly and helpful. The day we left, there was someone outside to help us get a car to the airport (just happened to have one waiting outside but we did not prearrange a car). Only tiny complaint was not enough counter space in the bathroom. Overall excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Greetings,

The Candlewood Suites family would like to thank you for stopping by our TripAdvisor page and leaving us such a wonderful overview of your stay with us. I am truly happy to see we were able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will make us your home when visiting the Big Apple. On your next trip, don’t forget to contact us we will be sure to “wow” you once more with our service. Thanks again and hope you have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

It was very clean and the beds where comfy it was brilliant how you could borrow a DVD from reception they where very helpful at reception also there was a place where you could buy snacks & drinks. Also the rooms where nice and and a bit like an apartment.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Good day and greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you so much for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. Our Candlewood staff is pleased to hear we were able to attend to your needs during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return in the future. Until then happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed there just one night. It was enough to see the good attention from staff. The location is good too, just 3 blocks away from MSG and the Bus terminal. The room was small but very compfortable, including refrigerator and microwave oven. Also with a 32 flat TV.. It was clean and looked modern/new. There are free lemonade and cofee in the lobby.
As we are members of Priority Club we received a gift that consisted of 2 bottled waters.
It doesn't have security box in the room.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Good day and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. We are pleased to hear our staff was able to leave a lasting impression on you after just one night with us. It is a pleasure to reward our priority club members with welcome bags and a couple of other small items to help show that we value your loyalty. We hope that you decide to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

due to some changes in meeting schedules, I needed to book a room in Mid town on short notice. Most fo the main hotels I like staying at were priced on the insane side, ($400+), so I booked something at the Candlewood figuring it was only for a night and at $199 - who am I to say no.

My expectations were minimal and I was definitely surprised at how nice the facility was. Don't get me wrong, it is not a 4 star facility, but what it offers, it does so very well. Clean, quiet facility with nice people working there. If I had any gripe, it was that it's location, (W 39th), is kind of on the dumpy side - but if you walk East on W39th, you emerge rather quickly in the middle of everything.

If you are looking for a budget conscious place to stay that is nicer than most of this ilk in Manhatten - this is the place....

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor will it will be a little quieter...This is not specific to this hotel - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to here that we exceeded your expectations. We would also like to thank you for recommending it to others. We hope you decide to join us again in the future. Until then happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. Check out our great, extended stay New York City hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.