We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #117 of 449 hotels in New York City
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

due to some changes in meeting schedules, I needed to book a room in Mid town on short notice. Most fo the main hotels I like staying at were priced on the insane side, ($400+), so I booked something at the Candlewood figuring it was only for a night and at $199 - who am I to say no.

My expectations were minimal and I was definitely surprised at how nice the facility was. Don't get me wrong, it is not a 4 star facility, but what it offers, it does so very well. Clean, quiet facility with nice people working there. If I had any gripe, it was that it's location, (W 39th), is kind of on the dumpy side - but if you walk East on W39th, you emerge rather quickly in the middle of everything.

If you are looking for a budget conscious place to stay that is nicer than most of this ilk in Manhatten - this is the place....

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor will it will be a little quieter...This is not specific to this hotel - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to here that we exceeded your expectations. We would also like to thank you for recommending it to others. We hope you decide to join us again in the future. Until then happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    553
    469
    93
    21
    18
See reviews for
131
550
104
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Our first impression was excellent as the front desk staff person was very friendly and helpful. Not only that, they had Otis Spunkmeyer chocolate chip cookies at the desk! The room was a decent size and had a sink, refrigerator and dishwasher. We were only there for a couple of nights, but this would be really good for a long term stay. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was clean - everything you would want in a room. I would absolutely stay here again and look forward to doing so!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Greetings from the Big Apple! First we would like to thank you for leaving such a nice review about our property on tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return in the future. We are also glad to hear you were able to enjoy your fresh baked cookies, that is always a nice way to start over any hotel stay. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I regularly stay in the Candlewood for business when I'm travelling in NYC. I love this hotel. It's in a terrific location, close to major transit lines and is within walking distance of many of the NYC landmarks.

The staff at this hotel are wonderful and are always pleasant when I arrive.
The rooms are great and I love having the suite-style option with a fridge and microwave (and others, i.e. stove, dishwasher, full sink). The laundry is complimentary which is also a great feature. As a Priority Club member, I spun the wheel at check-in and won $3 to spend in their store, which was a lovely feature.

The only downside of this hotel (and one that I consider to be minor) is the slowness of the elevators. The hotel has a lot of floors and the elevators can take a while getting from the top to bottom, especially when there is only one working, as was the case when I was there in mid-September. Beds are comfy, bathrooms are spacious enough for New York.

I really do enjoy my time at this hotel and look to stay here every time I'm in NYC!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. We are so pleased to hear that you really enjoy your stays with us and have become a frequent guest. Thank you for continuing to be a loyal guest and we look forward to your next arrival! Until then happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Its clean and the bed is very comfortable. Nice to have the little kitchen facility. Paid a bit more for a view and got the top floor -32nd. Beautiful view of downtown and the Empire State building just to one side. It was great to be up high for the view and also almost no street noise. Quiet and comfortable. Walking distance to Times Square, theaters, restaurants, shopping and subway. A good choice. Nothing fancy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay are were able to experience your stay a room with a beautiful view. We hope you decide to return to our property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Candlewood Suites are a perfect place from which to see NYC. The small suites offer a queen size bed, kitchen table, stove, microwave sink and dishwasher with plates utensils and pots. There is no daily maid service, but you can get fresh towels sent up. We usually like it that way even when staying in posh hotels. This is not a fancy hotel, but clean and functional.. They have a very nice free laundry room with modern front loaders in the basement, along with a small workout room. Very close to Times Square at 9th and 39th, there is a subway station on 42nd. The neighbor hood is safe.We walked a lot and it was fine. There is a bulletin board in the lobby with show and taping (like Letterman), restaurant recommendations etc. Free wifi, although our iPhones had trouble syching up. (not unusual at some hotels)
We prepaid on line for a better rate and that worked out well. Holiday Inn Priority Club points are awarded. Free coffee and tea 24/7 in the lobby and a small coffee pot in the room.
Perfect headquarters for eating breakfast in the room and heading out

Room Tip: The hotel is 32 stories high with only six rooms per floor, our room faced South, You could not see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Greetings from NYC,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am glad all of the comfortable amenities we offer were to your liking. Our "Out and About Board" is great and located by the front desk. Many of our guests benefit from our personal recommendations for great restaurants nearby, activities you can do and places to visit. Our location is central and great to visit many local attractions. I do apologize you had some troubles logging in to our WiFi connection. I wished you would've addressed the issue with us sooner to have it taken care of. I do hope to see you soon and don't forget to contact us on your next visit! Thank you for picking our property amongst many to choose from in the NYC area. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed at this location twice now, solely because I was able to book a room at a very good rate (approx $200 both times).

The location is very good. If you're not familiar with NYC, I'd say this hotel is kind of on the southwest fringe of times square. To be clear, you're not going to walk out the front door and into your performance of Wicked in 1 minute, but you're maybe 2 blocks from hitting times sqr. I saw a couple other reviewers suggest this hotel is on a sketchy block -- I'd disagree. There are 2 or 3 other chain hotels right there, and great hotels & bars just over on 9th & 10th. The block isn't loaded with restaurants & bars so it does feel a little desolate, but I don't think this area is any worse than other block in the neighborhood, which is to say -- it's fine.

The hotel itself was probably built within the last 5 years (I'm guessing). It's a no frills spot. No fancy lobby, no hotel bar. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Rooms have a little kitchen which would make this really appealing if you're in town for multiple nights.

My only gripe is that the AC unit in my room was pretty loud.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Good day and thank you for your honest review on TripAdvisor. I have to agree we are not in the middle of Times Square where the New Years eve ball is dropped every year, but we are certainly within walkable distance to this central location. We are on a quieter side which can be a plus at times. I am very glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us and sincerely apologize our AC unit was a bit too noisy during your stay with us. If you would like to contact us directly to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate in doing so. Again thank you for your review and we do appreciate all of your feedback. Hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've never stayed in a Candlewood Suites before, and based on my stay here the past three days, I wouldn't hesitate to book with this hotel chain again. We arrived at 11:30 on Monday and were allowed to check in early, which was great. My boyfriend is a priority member, so we got to spin the freebie wheel and won $5 to spend in the little tuck shop. The front desk staff were very friendly. We went up to the room, everything was clean and tidy. There was a problem with the toilet handle in our bathroom, and it was addressed quickly by the staff. No problems with the elevators, and we have felt safe on this street unlike some other reviewers. The street was very quiet at night from a higher floor, which is a plus for sleeping. The WiFi was a bit dodgey at times, but there's a Starbucks just on the east side of 8th to login and check online maps of the city, restaurant reviews, etc. It's a very close walk to Times Square and subway stops. I look forward to returning and checking out Candlewood Suites in other cities!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Greetings from the Candlewood Suites family,

We greatly appreciate you leaving us such great review on your most recent stay in our property. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us and all of the accommodations we offer. The Priority Club Prize wheel is great and no matter how many times you spin you are always a winner!!! I do apologize you had some troubles with our wifi connection. I hope you would’ve contacted the front desk while you were experiencing the problem. I am glad that this small “bump” did not deteriorate your experience with us and we hope to see you soon in the city that never sleeps NY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#121 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. Check out our great, extended stay New York City hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.