We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your best choice in little Italy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novella

Novella
191 Grand St. #A, New York City, NY 10013 (Little Italy)
212-966-0555
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,993 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not your best choice in little Italy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Didn't like the service, too slow and slopy. food was fair, but nothing spetial. Usually i can tell the quality of a good italian restaurant by the quality of the Bread and the olive oil they give away at the beginning... Not good from the very beginning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    51
    17
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Went there twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was staying near by and was recommended this restaurant by the hotel staff. My family and I all had delicious Italian meals and great customer service. So much so, that we made sure to eat there again in order to have fond memories of the great food we had in New York City.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had lunch last week & sat outside. Food & wine were very good indeed. (which is more than can be said for the ladies room I'm told).Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“ummmmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

After so much walking , and Italian places , found this one , the Pizza was just Pizza , just another fast food place in Little Itlay , we could rate it just Good, the service provided by the busboy boy was Great filled our glasses too many times , he said he was from Equador...but the boy waiter was not as nice, he was rushing , and when he asked if we was ready , he got upset, didnt come back , until he saw us get up to leave ...so BOOOOOOOOOOO TO YOU !!! to the bald italian waiter , take a chill pil!

Other wise it was ok... but wont go back ever!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went there for lunch. We took the pizza: 13$ each with a glass of wine ! Pizza very tasty and big. Good wine. Friendly staff, very attentive (I was very thirsty, the waiter must have filled my glass of water 10 times !). Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novella also viewed

 

Been to Novella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.