We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Fails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I Sodi

I Sodi
105 Christopher Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)
212-414-5774
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
I Sodi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #199 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Bleecker & Hudson Streets
Transit: 1 train to Christopher Street/Sheridan Square.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never Fails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This Divine Restaurant is a gem in the city! From the delicious artichoke salad, to perfectly prepared Pastas, Cornish Hen, Steak or Bronzino....Everything is Perfect. The sides of peas, Brussels sprouts , spinach etc are just perfectly prepared. It is a small restaurant to reservations a must but this is one not to be missed. Finally Fantastic Staff and Servers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    15
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It all adds up to a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had been trying to get a reservation at this restaurant for ever but they never had room. Finally i just walked in after a movie and sure enough we scored two seats at the bar. We ate very well and we drank very well and we were taken care of very well. There is such a positive energy here that you are guaranteed to have a great time. The staff truly wants you to enjoy yourself. I am not going to say that this Italian food will change your life, but how refreshing to find this small spot in the west village that feels like that perrfect neighborhood spot where "everyone knows your name."

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I'll eat here everytime I'm in Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Northern Tuscan fare in a small neighbourhood setting down in the West Village. Have been here three times in the last 5 months and each time is as good or better than the last. Simple inventive dishes, great Negroni's and straightforward, very pleasant service. Tap water offered off the top - and all Specials are described with their prices. Just really enjoy this restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great little, cozy, quaint restaurant/bar near the Lucille Lortel Theater in the village. Went there as a recommendation from some friend who are theater buffs. I had a mushroom pasta dish which was excellent. My wife had the spinach ravioli. Drinks were great. This place is very small with few tables. Our service was excellent from Kristin. Had the honey grappa as desert. Another excellent choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I Sodi is one of my favorite restaurants in NYC. The food is simple, yet refined Italian and is simply delicious. For such a small place, the service is always professional and friendly. My favorites here are the artichoke lasagna, the branzino with capers, and the homemade pastas that they rotate regularly. The place is consistently good..Definitely a must if you find yourself in the West Village. Dinner-only spot. If it's just two people, you can often drop in and sit at the bar to eat on a first-come-first-serve basis.

LOVE this place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Sodi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to I Sodi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Sodi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.