We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison & Vine

Madison & Vine
299 Madison Ave, Frnt 2, New York City, NY 10017-6298 (Manhattan)
212-867-5535
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Madison & Vine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,650 of 11,595 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 41st Street
Transit: 4, 5, 6 & S trains to Grand Central Terminal/42nd Street.
Description: Midtown's American Bistro and International Wine Bar offers a casually elegant atmosphere. Enjoy a complimentary Artisanal cheese plate with the purchase of a bottle of wine between 3:00pm - 6:00pm. Now Serving Brunch on Saturdays, 11:30 am. to 4 p.m. and Dinner on Sundays from 4 p.m. to 10 p.m.
Milford, NH
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“An excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

While staying at the Library Hotel, four of us stopped for lunch on a Friday. It was very busy and a little noisy, but that was due to the many local people eating there, not visitors such as us. Nonetheless, the attention and service was very very good. The service, wine list and the menu selections were outstanding.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    44
    82
    38
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great burger,excellent staff enjoyed wine selection adjoined to the library hotel good location busy at lunch on weekday locals seem to agree with tourists.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Decent place, decent food, decent atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a wine bar attached to a hotel. When we went on a Sunday evening it was busy and had a nice atmosphere to it.
Service was friendly and efficient. The menu offered a decent choice and there was a fixed price menu on offer, including a glass for $35 – plus, of course, all the usual NY add ons, making it closer to $45.
The food was food and the portions were reasonable, but not large.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice Midtown bar/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We dropped into Madison & Vine for an easy dinner option as we were staying at the Library Hotel next door. Although the restaurant was very busy, the friendly and efficient staff found us a table without any problems. We ordered a couple of salads - a chicken Cesar and a shrimp chop salad. Both very very tasty and well put together. As you'd expect from the name of the place, the wine list offers a good choice from around the world - we had a couple of glasses of excellent viognier which complemented the food very well. If you're looking for a restaurant in the area, you won't go far wrong here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congers, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I ate dinner here last night as a spur-of-the moment decision. We walked in at about 7:30 pm on a Saturday night, and were given a table outside right away. The place was about half-full, which maybe was a sign of the quality of the food here.

THE SERVICE: The service was good -- attentive without being overbearing. Waiters were not particularly friendly or rude, but just do their jobs cordially and well.

THE FOOD: The food was so-so. Starting with bread service, my husband had a plain roll that wasn't even warm -- nothing special about it. In fact, it was even on the tough side and had some difficulty cutting it. We shared an appetizer of asparagus with hollandaise and goat cheese, which was very good and we both thoroughly enjoyed. For dinner, my husband had the seafood bouillabaisse, which he claimed was good, but not great. He would have liked a few more pieces of fish or mussels, especially for the price of the entree ($24, I think). I had the roasted organic chicken, which had a good flavor, but was a bit on the dry side. It had a mustard jus, but that ran out about 2/3 of the way through my meal, and I couldn't finish the chicken without the sauce -- it was that dry.

ATMOSPHERE: The place seemed a little trendy, but there were a variety of people there. The decor was nice, clean and contemporary, but overall the restaurant was dark.

VALUE: At $100 for dinner for 2, I can't say that this restaurant had great value. It's normal for NYC prices, but I wasn't wowed. The $25 lunch prix fixe, or $35 dinner prix fixe (includes a glass of wine) might be a good option for those budget-conscious, if you can find something on the prix fixe menu that you like.

Overall, I wasn't impressed with the food here. It was okay, but didn't leave me craving for more. With so many options for dining in New York, I'll move on and try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison & Vine also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Madison & Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison & Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.