We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Effy's Cafe

Effy's Cafe
1638 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10128-3618 (Upper East Side)
212-427-8900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,686 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rip-off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was charged $9.20 for a turkey wrap with lettuce and tomato plus hummus. Nothing special and nothing exotic. $2 just for the hummus which I could buy an entire container for. I am extremely upset at this highway robbery and I will never eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Cosy little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Friendly owner, gave us free pita & humus dips and upgrade our Hot drinks for free. If only we live here, we'll come often..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable for a nice light meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Effy's is a comfortable little place to go and plop yourself down for a light meal or snack. It's a block east of the 92 St Y and I look forward to visiting the Y's speaker series several times a year knowing that I'm going to give myself time to stop in at Effy's. Last night I had a chicken wrap with a cup of coffee. Food is always good and seems fresh, They offer a nice selection of sandwiches, wraps and salads. Order at the counter and they will bring your food to you at your table. So long as it's not too cool outside, they leave the front open to the street and there are tables outdoors as well. You can go and eat, use your laptop, read or just relax over your food. Prices are very reasonable. Service is relaxed and pleasnt.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average Mediterranean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Good food in an average NYC setting. Communal seating inside. Small tables outdoors are nice. Order at the counter inside, they will bring it to you.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

"Thank you" is what the neighborhood has to say for Effy's Cafe. Without it, there would be no outdoor cafe to plant yourself with your laptop and munchies and beverages. The big coffee chain in our neighborhood is too small and totally indoors. Effy's offers more space, more to eat, more to drink, and personal friendly service from the owner himself. Effy's cares about its neighborhood because it is invested personally in its neighborhood. Great place for salads, sandwiches, etc. Great place to meet up with friends and make new ones. Great place to just decompress with a coffee or tea. Thank you.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Effy's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Effy's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Effy's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.