We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remarkable surprise on Christmas Day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vegetarian Dim Sum House

Vegetarian Dim Sum House
24 Pell Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Chinatown)
212.577.7176
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,908 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Dim Sum
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A remarkable surprise on Christmas Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Our family party of nine met in Chinatown where this and most every restaurant had lines in the street on Christmas day. Our wait was short and the staff helpful. Once seated, the waitress was right there and took our very large order in a flash, including a custom sauteed garlic/greens dish not on the menu. Platter after platter began to arrive in minutes, generous servings all hot, fresh, and delicious. They serve "mock" pork, chicken, and seafood Dim Sum as well as many main dishes, and it all really works! The fact that everything is vegetable based left us satisfied and full for hours with no "giant Chinese meal after-effects". We were not rushed through our dinner and the bill for nine of us was less than $120!! Wow.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    5
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious Dim Sum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is a small place and sure, the staff aren't the friendliest in the world but honestly I didn't care because that is not why you are here! The food is absolutely delicious and comparable to dim sum in San Francisco and Hong Kong.. that is saying a lot. The prices are very very cheap for what you get and especially for NYC. It is very rare to find Vegetarian dim sum so this was a special treat and everything was completely authentic and cooked to perfection. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE SERVICE- good value for food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is by far the worst service I have ever experienced in my life! They hate every single customer that comes in! I don't think they could have been more hostile to us! Seriously, I have never felt more unwelcome EVER! The food was pretty good, it came fast and was cheap. We spent about $15 for the two of us and were VERY full. It was good but the atmosphere is horrible b/c they hate their customers. They only take cash. I would not go back. I'm sure you can find better food with better service. HORRIBLE! I wish I could give them a zero rating!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“This place was amazing. It is an unassuming, small place in Chinatown with no atmosphere. However, the vegetarian dim...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

This place was amazing. It is an unassuming, small place in Chinatown with no atmosphere. However, the vegetarian dim sum here is the best I have ever had and at amazing prices (and that includes San Fransisco dim sum!). Service is awful but the food is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“This is a gem in the mist of Chinatown. Vegetarian Dim Sum House GREAT!!! The Sweet and Salty dumplings are amazing...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

This is a gem in the mist of Chinatown. Vegetarian Dim Sum House GREAT!!! The Sweet and Salty dumplings are amazing and my favorite. Yummy!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vegetarian Dim Sum House also viewed

 

Been to Vegetarian Dim Sum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vegetarian Dim Sum House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.