We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Angelique

Cafe Angelique
68 Bleecker St, New York City, NY 10012-2410 (Manhattan)
212-475-3500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,531 of 11,213 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Three Bridges, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Chai Tea was delicious. Eggs were dry. Cream cheese delicious. My companion loved the quiche. Kind of run down inside. Service was great when we got there but it filled to capacity and the service got flustered i think. Biggest complaint is the terrible artwork on the walls. Looks like a preschool art show.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice esspresso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I've never had food their 'cause the whole place does not look like a restaurant or cafe - very crowded and noisy and not relaxing at all. It reminds a railway station buffett...
But as for coffee - they prepare it perfect! So I prefere grab my everyday double esspresso and go away!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food from heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It was a cold grey saturday morning when we spotted the cafe.
We were warmly welcomed by a very chatty polite waitress - service was simply fantastic.
My husband and I chose our sandwiches for breakfast, and it was way out of our expectations. The mozzarella\pesto sandwich and the salmon on bagel were more than delicious. The banana\cranberry\walnut muffin is just unforgettable. It was our last day in NY, but we would have definitely gone back there many more times to try the other options.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food but overcrowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went there for breakfast on a Sunday morning. It's a small café so the table are very close to each other. We were seated in the alley going to the kitchen. Therefore there was alot of back and forth from the waiters and staff. They take on too many guests for the size of the place. Food and coffee was good. Service was ok.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Glimpse of West Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great pastries, great location especially if you get a window seat - though watch out for the drafts

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Angelique also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Angelique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Angelique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.