We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Angelique

Cafe Angelique
68 Bleecker St, New York City, NY 10012-2410 (Manhattan)
212-475-3500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,502 of 11,353 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Three Bridges, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Chai Tea was delicious. Eggs were dry. Cream cheese delicious. My companion loved the quiche. Kind of run down inside. Service was great when we got there but it filled to capacity and the service got flustered i think. Biggest complaint is the terrible artwork on the walls. Looks like a preschool art show.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
170 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice esspresso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I've never had food their 'cause the whole place does not look like a restaurant or cafe - very crowded and noisy and not relaxing at all. It reminds a railway station buffett...
But as for coffee - they prepare it perfect! So I prefere grab my everyday double esspresso and go away!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food from heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It was a cold grey saturday morning when we spotted the cafe.
We were warmly welcomed by a very chatty polite waitress - service was simply fantastic.
My husband and I chose our sandwiches for breakfast, and it was way out of our expectations. The mozzarella\pesto sandwich and the salmon on bagel were more than delicious. The banana\cranberry\walnut muffin is just unforgettable. It was our last day in NY, but we would have definitely gone back there many more times to try the other options.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food but overcrowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went there for breakfast on a Sunday morning. It's a small café so the table are very close to each other. We were seated in the alley going to the kitchen. Therefore there was alot of back and forth from the waiters and staff. They take on too many guests for the size of the place. Food and coffee was good. Service was ok.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Glimpse of West Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great pastries, great location especially if you get a window seat - though watch out for the drafts

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Angelique also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Angelique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Angelique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.