We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but overcrowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Angelique

Cafe Angelique
68 Bleecker St, New York City, NY 10012-2410 (Manhattan)
212-475-3500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,574 of 11,231 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food but overcrowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went there for breakfast on a Sunday morning. It's a small café so the table are very close to each other. We were seated in the alley going to the kitchen. Therefore there was alot of back and forth from the waiters and staff. They take on too many guests for the size of the place. Food and coffee was good. Service was ok.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Glimpse of West Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great pastries, great location especially if you get a window seat - though watch out for the drafts

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The belgium waffles were amazing. It was totally like eating dessert for breakfast. It seemed to be a place where a lot of the locals go for gourmet coffee and a quick on-the-go high quality pastry breakfast. I am not a coffee drinker so I cannot comment personally. Super cute cafe charm where we sat. They have these beautiful rod iron heart shaped chairs that are romantic european chic. Service was excellent, inviting, and very helpful with recommendations of menu favorites. I also believe that they have a food cart somewhere near NYU business campus. I think on Broadway near Mercer. We saw it walking around :)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“If you are a tourist or have an accent - don't go there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Those guys really made me furious when it came to the bill. The waiter added a generous 18% "gratuity" to the invoice for the three of us - without asking.
When I asked if this is a sort of special treatment for tourists, he seemed really uncomfortable and claimed this is "way of helping people out" - because this way they would not have to calculate the tip. He said that they did that with every customer - not only tourists.
When we left the restaurant I checked one bill on another table - guess what - it did not have the gratuity on it.
While I do understand that some tourists might not understand how tipping works in the US (because in many other countries tipping waiters is voluntary - because waiters get paid a decent wage and do not depend on tips) - I do not accept to be treated in any other way than locals. There are many restaurants who find better ways to deal with this, i.e. by adding a little description on the bill or menu.
Btw the food was okay but overpriced - comparing to other places we have been to in that area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious sandwiches, $9”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

After walking the High Line Park and strolling some more, we stopped for lunch at Cafe Angelique.
Our sandwiches were delicious, with many bread choices, and a variety of meats, vegetables, and spreads to awaken the taste buds.

Generous sandwiches and only $9.

Free Wi-Fi

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Angelique also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Angelique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Angelique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.