We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - fun atmosphere ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Centro

El Centro
824 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10019
646-763-6585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food - fun atmosphere ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a great place to relax and enjoy some great food an drink. The drinks are good the food selection broad. The goat cheese empanadas well done. Presentation is great food goes beyond traditional American Mexican fare . All fresh ingredients good portions and oh by the way a great price !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    51
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Québec
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Cosina Near Times Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our third time here since two years now... Always a threat. They make the best hand cooked torilla chips... and they are one of the few restaurant who really understand what are allergies. Our son as severe food allergies (dairy, eggs, mustard, soy, potatoes...) and he was able to eat not one but two serving of tortilla chips with no problems whatsoever!

The food is tasty and great and offered in a wide variaty of dishes.

Always a place that is heartening to go back. When I say close to Times Square... we just love to walk. From Brodway & 47th.. it is a few blocks away :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Muy bueno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We celebrated my son's birthday at El Centro after the theater. This was our first visit, but surely not our last! Starting with the excellent guacamole, Mexican corn and plantains to the very freshly prepared entrees, every bite was delectable. The restaurant has an "A" rating from NYC and is also Zagat rated. The prices were extremely reasonable and the service was very good. What more can you ask for? This is now my favorite Mexican restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

get the Guacamole - it's delish. quality and value for a light lunch in the city. I got the Chicken, Mango salad and plantains on the side. Husband for a beautiful yogurt and granola bowl. We both liked our food. The service was good and the cost for us both was about $40

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Busy contemporary Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Although the tables are very close together, like sardines..... The food service etc... was really great. The wine was expensive but had choices from all over the world. The food according to the locals is always good no matter what you order.... Now that was a recommendation!

Worth the visit, not sure about the wait though, although we got a table quickly, we were walking back from another restaurant and there were chairs outside for people waiting for a seat.... Now that's dedication in this coolness!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Centro also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.