We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Base To See New York From” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel East Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel East Houston to your Saves list
Hotel East Houston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #308 of 457 Hotels in New York City
la pietra grezza
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Good Base To See New York From”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed in the East Houston for three nights in July. The room we had was very small and it was difficult navigating around our suitcases which were on the floor when getting ready each day. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was good and very clean. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.
The situation of the hotel is perfect for all the great sights bars, restaurants and tube stations.
There is a lot of construction work going on outside at the moment so a room on the top floor is best at present. There is no breakfast included although there is a free coffee and tea machine in the basement.
The roof terrace has a good view and is worth a visit. Overall the hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side higher up that the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    128
    48
    9
    9
See reviews for
15
148
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel East Houston is conveniently located in one of NYC's most dynamic neighbourhoods, and on one of its busiest streets. It is only minutes away from the Lower East Side's many bars and restaurants, close to live music venues, as well as to public transport, with the 2nd Ave subway around the corner and the Bleecker St stop about a 10 minute walk away.

The hotel itself is small but stylish. Although the rooms are tiny, they are also very comfortable, clean, and perfectly sufficient to get a good night's rest. Let's face it, you should be spending more time exploring the city outside than hanging around indoors anyway.

On previous visits, the hotel offered a basic breakfast of pastries, fruit and yoghurt, but that seems no longer to be the case. In any event there are plenty of places nearby to provide your daily sustenance, including the famous Clinton Street Bakery (best to go very early on a weekday - the wait can be excessively long).

The hotel's rooftop terrace also offers great views of the city, including the iconic Empire State Building and the bustling Houston Street.

Hotel East Houston is a great little hotel, and perfect for any New York adventure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Agree the rooms are small and AC noisy but it's great location for exploring. Great Latino tapas bar almost next door, metro round the corner, whole foods shop nearby, mercury lounge, Katz's where Harry met Sally, great bakery for breakfast on Clinton. Rooftop terrace has superb views as stated by others and there's little room for luggage but it wasn't an issue for us. Just slept there and the bed was comfy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location as there's a metro station just behind the corner and lot of good restaurants and a great grocery store within 10-15 mins walk. Hotel itself is nothing fancy, but still a good value for money I believe. Small, but pretty quiet room. I didn't get the idea behind the glass wall between the room and bathroom. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Location:
- Literally a minute away from 2nd Ave subway stop
- Walking distance from Washington Sq Park and NYU
- Compared to other hotels in this area, this was by far very good value for money
- Road works happening right outside hotel but I didn't hear anything (room was on 6th floor)

Room and en suite:
- Very clean, wooden floors, looked newly refurbished
- Clean bathroom, good shower pressure
- The room is on the small-ish side. There was 2 of us with one suitcase in the room and it wasn't too bad but any more luggage and it would have felt cramped.
- No fridge in room but you can get food put into a fridge and it's meant to be accessible 24hrs but never needed to do this.

Extras:
- rooftop area is very chilled out (tables and sofas), always accessible (I went at 3am) and the view is great (can see empire state building, Chrysler building and one world trade centre). Real bonus to chill out after walking around the city all day.
- Free tea and coffee in the basement (set hours).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I really liked this hotel. I didn't give it 5 starts because I reserve that for really, really special places but it absolutely was a good experience. I picked it because of the price and location. Hard to find an option in NYC for less than $300. The rooftop terrace was amazing - comfortable chairs, quiet and beautiful views around the city - my only request would be they ban smoking up there. The staff was very nice, helpful with restaurant recommendations and bags. My only complaint (if you could even call it that) was the size of the room. I just wish I had been prepared for how small it would be. It had everything we needed - bed, TV, nice bathroom (well equipped and pretty big) but it was barely bigger than the queen size bed. We didn't plan to do anything except sleep there so it was fine but I was surprised. If I knew what to expect in advance, I would have been ok with it. Some of the reviews mentioned the small size but just know it's REALLY small and you'll be ok with it! For the price, the location and the quality, I woudl definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for 16 nights. The room is small, I had a queen size bed. Wish though that there were a small refrigerator in the room. An extra lamp over the desk would have been wonderful.
One day the air-condtioning did not work but they cleaned the filters. The overall cleaning is okay. No breakfast but free coffee, tea and chocolate to drink during the day. 24 hours hot water and cold water and access to a microwave in the "breakfast" room. A rooftop (7. floor) where you can enjoy the view and sit there and eat and drink if you bring something. There is an elevator and 6 floors. The room had a nice bathroom with a bathtub.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel East Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel East Houston

Address: 151 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel East Houston 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel East Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Houston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel East Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.