We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in a Fabulous Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel East Houston

Save Saved
You added Hotel East Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel East Houston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful Hotel in a Fabulous Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hotel East Houston is a great place to stay for comfort, convenience and enjoyment. We loved how close it was to so many burrows of NY. Only a few minutes to Brooklyn, Time Square, Tribeca, Meat Packing etc. the hotel is quiet, warm and safe feeling. The staff are all so very friendly. We loved East Side and would certainly recommend this hotel. Wish the weather was not so cold as the rooftop area has an awesome view.

Room Tip: Corner Room or room on Houston St side was great. No noise which was surprising.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    122
    46
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
143
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Not the best location, but it is accessible to subway, east village, soho, etc. and easy spot to get a cab. Great lobby, rooftop deck, and breakfast/computer lounge in basement. Rooms were basic and small - European sized. Platform bed was adequate, but not plush comfy. Good for the price, as NYC hotels go.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozone Park NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Loved staying at Hotel East Houston. The rooms are cozy and clean. The staff are very courteous. The rooftop offers excellent views of the city skyline. Location is great to travel anywhere in NYC! I highly recommend the Hotel East Houston!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Walking distance to East Village. Hotel staff friendly and eager to assist. Three night stay, the smallest hotel room we've had in NYC. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are the only beverages available for guest and a trip to lower level to get.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a very simple, affordable hotel conveniently located in Soho. This hotel is located close enough to Soho shops you can easily walk and drop bags within 10 minutes.

Additional benefits of the location – it’s a block away from a Whole Foods, which saved me money on food, across the street from a subway stop, and a couple of blocks from Katz Deli (which is fantastic).

This is a well located, clean, no frills hotel. I’d stay here again.

Room Tip: Elevator is maybe the slowest in any hotel I've stayed in. Lower floors may be better since if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was a great little hotel right on Houston street. The bus was right outside and metro was 4-6 blocks away. January was low season so the price was right. It can get very price in the Summer months since you can walk to so many great areas. Very nice roof top patio to relax and check out the skyline. Friendly front desk staff. Rooms are very small with no side chair or desk. Closet is very small for 2-3 items only. Stay here for the location, not the room.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up and not on Houston street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you want a great, basic hotel that's close to NY's coolest bars and restaurants, look no further than Hotel East Houston. My husband and I have just got back from a four-night stay there and loved it - the hotel was clean, had good, hot showers, was perfectly located for the nightlife and practically next to a subway stop (2 Ave). We could walk to most of the places we wanted to visit - including Williamsburg - and were just a stone's throw away from Bowery, Little Italy and Broadway. Our room was spotless and the staff were always friendly (although we only really spoke to them to check in and check out). During our stay, there was a lot of work taking place on the main road outside but it didn't disturb our sleep and we didn't hear a peep out of the other guests so the soundproofing must be good. There's also a really cute little roof terrace on the 7th floor where you can enjoy the views with your own food and drink - we've promised ourselves we'll go back to experience it in the summer next time :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel East Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel East Houston

Address: 151 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel East Houston 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel East Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Houston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel East Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.