We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel East Houston

Save Saved
You added Hotel East Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel East Houston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #265 of 452 hotels in New York City
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My colleague and I had a big presentation in the city and needed a nice affordable spot to stay overnight. Recommended by Swedish friends, the rooms are small but very clean, the bathroom is a great colorful contrast and the terrace is fantastic. Great location near Whole Foods, with great walking all around. Will stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    119
    44
    7
    8
See reviews for
13
140
41
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The rooms (standard queen in our case) are pleasant and all you need (except little room to hang clothes perhaps). The design is unobtrusive, modern, dark wood and cream. Liked the Italian designer lamps in the room! The bathroom was fine, great shower and reliable hot water with good pressure. Not always to be had in NYC. All furnishings were in great shape and nothing seemed worn or faded. The coffee/tea bar (and public fridge and microwave) in the basement are maybe nice for some people, I found it a bit spooky and there's such great coffee to be had everywhere these days in New York...
Although East Houston St. is a major road (with roadworks exactly in front of the hotel at the moment), the windows keep out the noise quite well and the aircon is modern and quiet.
Highlight: The roof terrace! Beautifully furnished, wooden deck and furniture, several seating areas, glass panes to minimize wind and maximise safety and view. You can (must) bring your own food and drink, and there's no wifi connection up there but that's okay.
Location: Just before Chinatown, so fun and short distances to many quirky neighbourhoods. Within two blocks, you have a huge variety of cafes, bars, restaurants. Breakfast can be at the amazing Wholefoods supermarket and cafe or at a mediocre diner a block down the other direction, or at the weekends in a number of sweet little cafes. Subway: There is a station just outside the hotel, but it is "only" the F-line. More lines (4 and 6) are about 4 blocks down, so a ten minute walk.
Information for international visitors: great place to be, good value for money, relatively big rooms for NY, reliable water supply, lots of quirky shops and cafes nearby. And the roof terrace which our local friends were very envious of :-)

Room Tip: Higher up for a nicer view? The side street rooms might be quieter but the windows insulate well. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent a long weekend in New York for the New Yorker festival and to visit our niece who lives on the lower east side. Since we didn’t want to spend a fortune, our choices were limited to The Hotel East Houston and the Gem.

First, the not so good:

We stayed in a Queen room and it was really small. I had to sidle around the bed to get to my side. The hotel has some King rooms but, according to the woman at the front desk, the rooms aren’t really larger.

There are seven floors. Floors two through six have guest rooms and the 7th floor is a roof deck. All of the guest room floors have the same configuration – rooms ending in 4 are directly across from the elevator. We were originally put in one of these (they called it a “4-line” room). I had my husband stand by the elevator and talk and I could hear him clearly so we asked to have our room changed.

Our second room was a “3-line” – room 203. It was a corner room with windows on both sides. Close to the elevator but, because of the configuration, elevator noise was not a problem.

Be prepared for very little closet space. There is a peg that holds 4 hangers and a tiny shelf for clothes. Fortunately, there are deep windowsills and we used those for storage.

Now, the good:

Location, Location, Location. There’s a subway stop half a block away and lots of restaurants within a few blocks. It’s also an easy walk to SOHO shopping and restaurants as well as the New Museum.

The hotel staff couldn’t be nicer. They were helpful and friendly. They really wanted to make sure we were having a good stay.

The large roof top deck with beautiful city views is GREAT!!!!! It almost made up for the small room size. Take elevator to 7th floor and be prepared to be charmed. We had it to ourselves most of the time. We brought coffee up in morning (free coffee and tea on the lower level of the hotel) and wine from the great-find September Wine store (front desk will give you directions - just a few blocks away).

The room was surprisingly quiet. We were concerned about hearing street noise from our second-floor room but it wasn’t a problem.

The bottom line.

If you’re looking for a relatively inexpensive hotel on the lower east side for a long weekend, The Hotel East Houston is a great choice – probably the best choice. Our niece’s parents stayed at the Gem and she said the Hotel East Houston was much nicer – the Gem didn’t have the rooftop deck and the rooms were just as small or smaller.

Room Tip: A corner room (rooms ending in 3) is a good choice - windows on two sides. A higher floor would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We Spent 6 nights in Hotel East Houston. You can't fault the location. It is on the main F Subway line that runs from Brooklyn to Uptown ( You can be at the Rockerfeller Centre in 18 minutes !) The room was small and it does pose a few logistic issues when travelling with 2 decent sized suitcases however this is not a reason to avoid the hotel, I believe everywhere in NYC is "compact" in size at this pricepoint.
The concierge allowed us to leave our bags when we arrived early, allowing us to check out the local area for a few hours until our room was ready.
The rooftop deck provides beautiful skyline views ( although it was booked out Friday and Saturday nights with private functions).
A mentioned in another review, our room also had the Translucent Glass Wall between the bathroom and bed so you need to be comfortable with your travelling partner as there is not much privacy.
All in all the hotel is great , the team are nice, the location is perfect if you are looking at the Lower East Side ( and you can walk almost anywhere if you want to absorb the neighbourhood).
Would look at returning on the next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Ill make myself clear that the points above don't go to the hotel as I don't think very highly of it, the location however cannot be beaten if this is the area you want to be in. It is so incredibly central to everything. The subway is 10 steps away, wholefoods is one block down the street, and the spectacular shopping of soho is 4 blocks down. As is a plethora of street food, bars, restaurants and so much more. If you want central, stay here. But it isn't tourist central!

The hotel is deceiving, the images online aren't what you get when you arrive, the room is small, which I expected, but it wasn't as updated and as chic as I was expecting, so the images and descriptions were mimsleasing. The rooftop, yes, it has stunning views, however, it was booked out to a private function on Friday and Saturday nights, so why advertise it as a hotel exclusive rooftop when they rent it out. Hmm. Very disappointing as I really wanted to have a relaxing afternoon Friday before the baseball on the rooftop and watch the world go by and this wasnt possible.

The staff were friendly enough, the king bed was comfortable and the double glazed windows were a relief as the street noise of E Houston can make you want to punch something. All in all is was an ok experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

In a very good place, near by a subway station. Small room but new and clean, as well as the restroom. Good air conditioner, nice view of the empire state building. There's no breakfast but at the last floor there's a magnific terrace. Should i come back in NYC, i would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Translucent? Curious for a title you might think, however this will be the one and only negative feature of the hotel I have to add.. but we’ll get to that last.

For us, you can’t get much better than this location. This area is where it’s at for our style shopping, bars, and sightseeing. We were able to pop back to our room to change or relax in between outings which is really, really convenient (especially when walking and looking for an available restroom in the city).

The staff are excellent; very nice and accommodating. They offer restaurant recommendations and are available 24 hours a day at the front desk. They even allowed us to “check” a bag after we checkout of the hotel so we didn’t have to tote it around the city all day before leaving that night. This is a major benefit.

The hotel was exactly how you see it in the pictures; clean with beautiful modern furniture and art. The 7th floor offers a gorgeous roof top deck open 24 hours a day. I especially loved the view late at night lite up with lights *and* early in the morning with my cup of complementary tea! They also serve coffee in the basement lounge area.

The room was small as to be expected in any NY hotel. Now to the ‘translucent’ part of our stay. The wall separating the bathroom and bedroom was made a beautiful frosted glass. That’s right, you get a full view of your partner taking care of business from anywhere in the room, especially when you’re sitting on the bed. Don’t get me wrong, it looks great but it’s not very realistic. Good thing my boyfriend and I are comfortable enough with each other to laugh this off, but we did spend the night using the facilities with the lights off to make it somewhat private. I know a lot of couples this would not fly with, and I would think this room should have listed that maybe as warning to what you should expect. I’m also curious if the rest of the rooms are set up the same way. I would ask prior to booking, although we may try out another hotel in area *only* because of the bathroom issue. Everything else about the East Houston Hotel was wonderful, and would have received 5 stars from me if not for that wall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel East Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel East Houston

Address: 151 East Houston Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel East Houston 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel East Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Houston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel East Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.