We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marie's Crisis

Marie's Crisis
59 Grove Street, New York City, NY (Manhattan)
Improve this listing
Ranked #592 of 11,652 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I didn't eat here, was here just for the sing-a-long.

What a great night out, packed little place everyone joining in with the musical numbers. I had heard so much about piano bars I knew I needed to take a look. Loved it, go, tonight!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    29
    9
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally fun show tune sing-along bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had a great time singing along to Gershwin, Les Mis, Chicago and much, much more. Amazing piano player who played for hours while some great singers and some more like me sang along. Tiny little place. Sign says it fits 72 but I'm guessing more like 30 if you want to breathe. Generous with the liquor in mixed drinks. No food served but lots of choices nearby. When we first arrived there were about six young men draped around the upright piano singing a ton of ballads I wasn't familiar with. The joint started hopping about 9. Very few seats so go early if you want to sit. I'd totally go next time I'm back in NYC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“if you like to sing along”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very nice bar, good drinks, but the great thing is the pianoplayer and all the guests joining in singing along all sorts of musical and cabaret songs on a sometimes professional level. Had a great night celebrating my friends birthday

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“grass roots theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not a theatre-going kind of person myself, my wife brought me here, jus to see if it was my cup of tea. Well I loved it. It really was back to the basics, no frills basement bar where extras and up and coming theatre types come and entertain themselves, their friends, and whoever else pops in to sample their talents. It's a very small place which consists of a small amount of seating areas and a piano, and that about it really. The entertainment is great, and the kind of place to visit if you enjoy a good-feel place to spend an evening with relatively cheap plonk and beer to boot....will be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Marie's Crisis is a wonderful basement, show tunes bar where you can be around musical theater fans (such as myself) and have a great time singing all your favorite broadway melodies new and old. Their is zero once of pretension with this crowd and the staff is there to ensure everyone is enjoying themselves and having a great time. I can't wait to return!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie's Crisis also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Marie's Crisis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marie's Crisis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.