We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Carlsbad to your Saves list
Motel 6 Carlsbad
3824 National Parks Hwy, US Hwy 62/180, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Level Contributor
361 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Enough!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you're traveling and just want a place to sleep then this is good enough. Checkin was smooth and fast. Rooms were ok; just nothing fancy. Place was packed but it was very peaceful. I wouldn't have and reservations about staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harryscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jemez Springs, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Reasonable rates, clean, good place for a cheap stay in Carlsbad. With most of the places to stay in Carlsbad running $100 or better a night. The motel 6 was a good value at $60 a night. There is really nothing special about this motel 6 but if you would like an downstairs room where you can park right outside your door mention that is your preference when booking the room. This is a plus for people traveling on motorcycle where they can leave their bike just outside thier door.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Traveling through Carlsbad, we needed a "pet friendly" hotel. The extent of this place being "pet friendly" is that they allow pets at all. There are NO grassy areas for walking dogs (hope your dog likes rocks and broken glass). The room was barely adequate, the bed was uncomfortable, the tub was dirty, the heat/ac unit was load (but not as load as the mini-fridge, which we had to unplug), and I wouldn't trust the microwave that had obviously hit the floor more than once. I actually ended up going to buy a cheap coffee maker for use in the room so at least I could have hot coffee, especially since there is no breakfast provided and a useless microwave. The road noise and noise from the go-cart place next door were hard to ignore. The "computer desk" was a joke, since the only electrical plugs at the desk were already in use for the microwave and mini-fridge. Due to physical disabilities, requested ground floor room, but none were available at that time. Since we had pre-booked the room for trips to and from Albuquerque, I asked them if they could at least put us in a downstairs room on return trip. I was assured that they would. Unfortunately, when we did come back for the return trip home, we ended up in the exact same room (upstairs, noisy mini-fridge, damaged microwave and all).
Although we will go through Carlsbad in the future, and will need a place to stay, we will NOT come back to this motel. We have stayed in much nicer hotels and motels for less money. Granted, not many "pet friendly" places in Carlsbad, but next time we will pay the extra for a better place to stay, OR we will simply travel farther to find better options.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, don't even try here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIKKI_G-SANANTONIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
375 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

You get what you pay for. My Fiance and I stopped here because it was cheaper than those $200 night hotels down the road. Paying only $60 for a room is exactly what we were looking for. It is also pet friendly which is a plus. There is a flat screen tv with full cable channels. That is about the extent of the pros for this motel. The doors are hard to open because the office said they recently painted and they stick sometimes. I felt like I was breaking into the room just to get inside. The room itself is small but manageable. The bed is so hard that you couldn't tell the difference if you were laying on the floor. Just had an uneasy feeling all night because car alarms kept going off and dogs kept barking. I would not stay here another night.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Logan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First room had a filthy floor and jewelry remnants from previous guest. The kicker was the beds were missing sheets and those that were on of the one beds was obviously used. I asked for another room and was given a key to check out a "clean" room. I am not sure what clean is to the housekeeping staff but the nightstand between the beds had a few cigarettes ashes flicked all over it...all I could think is that if they miss this...what do they actually clean? Would have changed hotels by then except Carlsbad is full of transient energy workers and even this hotel was booked. Third room was acceptable and had a quiet night. Front desk staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bzn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We made advance reservations for a 13 day driving trip of the west and this was our second stop. The hotel looks fine from the outside, we checked in and paid. The check in was smooth and efficient. We opened the door to the room and it was very very small. Smaller than you can imagine, literally about 1/2 the size of a regular hotel room. It was filthy. The furniture was old and some of it was broken. In the tiny bathroom there was something dripping down the wall right next to the toilet where someone had thrown up and it wasn't cleaned. I knew that a lot of the rooms in Carlsbad were sold out from when I was looking for a hotel but I saw another hotel just across the parking lot and decided to give it a try and see if they had a room, cause there was no way I was staying at the Motel 6! Luckily there was a room. Then I went back to the Motel 6 office to get my money back. The best thing about this motel is that they refunded my money with no problem.

Room Tip: Don't stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this motel because it had the best, though not good, reviews of the three available motels in Carlsbad, NM. It is a very dated property with small rooms, dirty floors, stained sheets, a refrigerator needing crumbs cleaned from the outside, and a poorly cleaned toilet. It did have a flat screen TV and the sink looked new. It was available at around $55/night whereas the Hampton Inn at approx. $250/night was sold out for the next two weeks. $55 is probably a fair price in this price-inflated market but I'll try to avoid this motel if at all possible.

Note: Book early if you plan to travel to west Texas/eastern New Mexico. Good rooms are hard to get. One reason given was that work in the oil fields has brought in workers needing a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbens414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
16.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#3 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carlsbad

Address: 3824 National Parks Hwy, US Hwy 62/180, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 Carlsbad is located in the beautiful state of New Mexico near a wide variety of shopping, dining, and entertainment. This Motel 6 features an outdoor pool and a business center. Free WiFi is available in all of our modern rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Motel-6 and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Motel Six Carlsbad
Carlsbad Motel 6
Carlsbad Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing