We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced. $25/night pet fee. SMALL bathroom.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Carlsbad to your Saves list
Days Inn Carlsbad
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3910 National Parks Highway, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Overpriced. $25/night pet fee. SMALL bathroom.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I've found the options in Carlsbad, especially if you're traveling with a dog, to be slim. Although I booked this room for $118 (not counting the $25 dog fee), they were booking for $170 for that night as I was checking in. The bathroom was so small you hardly had room to turn around. And I mean that literally. Plus the toilet sat so low to the floor it looked like one from an elementary school children's bathroom! Breakfast only went until 9 a.m. and pool/jacuzzi closed at 10 p.m. The bed and pillows were comfy, and it was fairly quiet, so I've had worse--but lots better, too, especially if I were paying the full price! Internet connection was problematic but finally got logged on. Exterior corridors (which we prefer) mean you have to walk outside to get to the pool, then enter it through the lobby. I couldn't uncheck the fitness center rating but I don't think they had one. Missed breakfast to take advantage of swim before having to leave for business appointment, so can't speak to that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIVYANG C, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Carlsbad, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for you review. So sorry you did not enjoy your stay. As most hotels, the pool has certain hours for everyone's safety. Prices are due to the growing community, and oil & gas industry.
-Janelle Laake, front office manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    83
    87
    53
    51
See reviews for
124
83
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

When we stayed they were advertising that the mattresses were new and we did have a good night sleep. As seniors we're not a fan of no elevator, especially when you need to walk up poorly lit steps at night. The toilet and tub were in one room and the sink in another which made the bath area small. We didn't have any coffee cups in the room on arrival, but the gal at front desk was helpful in getting us some. I needed to remove the comforter later that evening when I noticed it wasn't clean. I told the cleaning staff in the morning. The breakfast staff was pleasant, and the breakfast in the morning had both pancakes and waffles, which was a first for us. The cost for a mid level hotel we would have typically stayed in that evening was outrageously priced and this was more reasonable, but we felt still costly. The stay was okay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Rockford, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Way over-priced at $168 per night, but still cheaper than most. Had rules on door that said our luggage had to be up off the floor during the day so they could do their semi-annual cleaning. Are those the only times they shampoo after all those dirty workmen they rent to trod upon the carpet with all that desert dust and those chemicals? The clerk assured us they'd wait until the day we left. We came back after the Caverns and our carpet was soaked and our dirty luggage up on our clean beds! At breakfast The desk clerk jumped in front of me to put HER toast in the toaster! Oh, yes, no tongs for the bread. Everyone is reaching into the bags with their hands! See the Caverns, they are great, but don't stay in Carlsbad! Even the air stinks like petroleum or solvent.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIVYANG C, Manager at Days Inn Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Good morning! Thank you so much for your feedback. I do apologize for the issues you had. And we will do our best to work on them. I hope you have a great day. -Janelle Laake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Carlsbad

Address: 3910 National Parks Highway, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Carlsbad 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.