We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager was responsive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1829 South Canal Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Carlsbad
SLC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Manager was responsive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. The maid service was not great. There was hair on the bathroom floor when we arrived. The sheets were inside out and upside down. The worst thing was the landscaper started up a fork lift right outside our room about 7:30 in the morning and proceeded to move landscape rocks back and forth in front of our room. When we mentioned these issues the manager took one nights charges off our bill, took responsibility and apologized for the problems.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    100
    95
    55
    51
See reviews for
128
92
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is not worth the price but all the hotels in Carlsbad are over priced. The oil companies in the area have driven up the prices. It's a shame for those of us traveling. Had we paid the normal rates this would have been a good stay. The cleaning staff very friendly. Front desks employee needs customer service. Breakfast was good, bed comfortable and room clean. We took the Carlsbad lantern tour and the Christmas on the Pecos. Both excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I travel at least one week per month and this was the worst hotel I've stayed at anywhere in the US this year. The room rate was high, room quality poor, and had to deal with barking dogs all night three of the nights. I even got to enjoy a pile of dog crap right outside my door two of the days. Staff said they'd talk to dog owner, but it continued nightly. I would have stayed anyplace else, but other hotels in town were even further outside of per diem due to oil rush in region.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

La Mesa, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in order to enjoy Christmas on the Pecos. We found the location convenient. There were a lot of oil or mine workers staying there with trucks all over the place. Most left for work early, so we were awakened by that as well as a few car alarms during the night. I felt the $150 nightly charge to be too high for the hotel. The service was excellent, both at the front desk and in the dining area. Found the room to be clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was average, but again the service was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is a decent price considering the others on the same street are easily $100 more, but it might be worth it. The water was never hot for the shower, the room was cold and the other guests had trucks that were so loud when they started them up at 4am to go to work. The breakfast was pretty good. The lounge/bar was fun. But for me, my business trip, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. The room was huge, the bed was warm and comfy, breakfast was early (6-9) and hot (sausage, scrambled eggs, biscuits, pancakes). Wifi signal was strong and speedy for Youtube viewing. However, the shower was not very hot, the water pressure was more like a sprinkler, and the outlet at the sink was missing a faceplate (not so good next to water, no?). Also, there were little things that make you think twice about the clientele/area around you. For example, there is a sign next to the TV that says "commercial grade, will not operate for residential use". What kind of guests are regularly stealing the TV? During check in, I got these little orange vouchers for the breakfast buffet. Are they really having problems with non-guests wandering in for the food?. The last time I was verified for a breakfast buffet was over 10 years ago. Finally, my Do Not Disturb sign was missing These are all little things that didn't impact my stay but collectively would make me think twice before staying again, especially considering the premium room rate.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms get a lot of parking lot noise from pickup trucks coming and going even late into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights on a get-away weekend in Carlsbad. The hotel is nice - large rooms and parking at your door. There's also a good restaurant and a bar that is apparently the place to be. We would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn

Address: 1829 South Canal Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevens Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western
Best Western Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.