We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1829 South Canal Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Carlsbad
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Aged rustic property... Great overnight. Reserve over the internet, you will get a better price.
Clean and comfortable. Rather clean dry feeling carpet and room. Bathroom appeared clean. Rooms all face outdoors, park in front of your room.
Breakfast nothing special, continental style.

Room Tip: Advanced reservations are recommended for a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    77
    89
    49
    45
See reviews for
109
79
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, LA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was extremely pleased with our stay here! I was in town to see the caverns with my two school aged children. While quite spread out and remote from the lobby/main building, our room was updated with new carpet and upgraded modern linens. The bathroom area was one of the most spacious I have experienced. The room was perfectly clean.

I found hotel prices in Carlsbad to be very inflated, but with the wonderful free full breakfast buffet, this was a great value, comparatively.

With numerous questionable hotels on the main drag, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Best Western.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chasse
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We like most ,were visiting Carlsbad Caverens, from the Boston area.. Chose it due to other Best Westerns we have been at. The front desk was nice but the girls did not know much about the Caverns. Did not try the restaraunt for dinner wanted sw food. The room was big the WiFi was better than other BW even though we were in the far end away from the front desk. We went in early March it was filled with pick up truck and heavy equpment trucks presumably from the oil drilling companies out there. Problem they left very early in the morning 5- 5:30 back up beeping and all.

The room was clean but will agree the towel very thin and scratch and they could up grade the TP. The breakfast was the standard BW fare , not bad have had worst free breakfast, however no visible waffle did not know you have to order them. But that is one reason we stay there we can eat and leave for Carlsbad Carverans with out any fuss. Not sure if I would stay there again or would try another establishment

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Like many others, we were on a weekend visit to Carlsbad Caverns. We had a free coupon for one night that we earned during a promotional period last year. We paid for the second night. Our room was on the ground floor, and while yes it had a cracked tile in the bathroom and the curtains could be hung better, overall it was a very pleasant room.

We had a king size bed with lots of pillows, thinner but adequate linens, the TV worked fine, two bathroom sinks and tons of counter space. I liked that the toilet and shower were separate from the sink area. Plenty of hot water and toiletries. We were in the wing farthest from the lounge and lobby. We like to keep the fan on to drown out other noises, but we did not hear any noise from other people or traffic.

It is a short walk down to Chili's, and there are sidewalks to use, another plus. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant for any dinner, but we did take advantage of the free breakfast buffet in the morning. The food is probably institutional in the way that means I'm sure it is not freshly made gravy, it is probably frozen or canned. That is not to say that it is bad, it's just missing that homemade or gourmet touch. There were pancakes, biscuits, gravy, fried potatoes, scrambled eggs and sausage patties on the hot buffet. The other side of the room had breads, cereals, and fruit.The friendliest wait staff you could hope for kept our coffee mugs filled and were on top of keeping the buffet stocked even near the closing time for later arrivals. They earn their tips.

We did stop into the lounge on our Friday dinner at Chili's; there is a cover charge of $5 but it is waived if you are a guest in the hotel. There was a DJ and lots of security, not obtrusive but present. The DJ played a decent variety of country, only a few hip hop songs and some line dance type of party music. It became more and more crowded, mostly 20's and 30's, but we did not feel out of place. Plenty of people dancing and having a good time. We left about 10pm; they make you exit through the outside where all the smokers are hanging out, but it was not a big deal.

The hotel is located on the main street of the town, just after a curve, so it was a little tricky making a left out of the parking lot but there is that middle lane to sit in while traffic clears. Carlsbad Caverns is less than an hour away, I didn't keep track very closely but maybe about 30 minutes. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed in Stevens Inn on business trip - older but well maintained - restruant newly remolded - staff very friendly and helpful. Will definetly stay here again. Have stayed at other newer motels in the area but they do not offer anything Stevens Inn doesn't are a lot more expensive. I try to spend the compaines money wisely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Bogota
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We hadn't stayed in your classic drive-up roadside motel in awhile. The room was huge compared to modern hotels and had a double sink vanity which was nice. We had no noise from neighbors or traffic at all - completely quiet. Beds and linens were ok. Showers were ok. It's old, but has been maintained and somewhat updated. Breakfast was incredibly crowded and not good at all. But it was an ok choice for 1 night on a roadtrip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The rooms where clean and nice. Very comfortable. Great location for my needs at the time. The restaurant is excellent!!! Newly remodeled. The wait staff really tries to make your dining experience pleasant.
For the price a stay here is well worth it!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn

Address: 1829 South Canal Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevens Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western
Best Western Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.