We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1829 South Canal Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Aged rustic property... Great overnight. Reserve over the internet, you will get a better price.
Clean and comfortable. Rather clean dry feeling carpet and room. Bathroom appeared clean. Rooms all face outdoors, park in front of your room.
Breakfast nothing special, continental style.

Room Tip: Advanced reservations are recommended for a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    127
    120
    69
    59
See reviews for
166
115
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I was extremely pleased with our stay here! I was in town to see the caverns with my two school aged children. While quite spread out and remote from the lobby/main building, our room was updated with new carpet and upgraded modern linens. The bathroom area was one of the most spacious I have experienced. The room was perfectly clean.

I found hotel prices in Carlsbad to be very inflated, but with the wonderful free full breakfast buffet, this was a great value, comparatively.

With numerous questionable hotels on the main drag, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Best Western.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chasse
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We like most ,were visiting Carlsbad Caverens, from the Boston area.. Chose it due to other Best Westerns we have been at. The front desk was nice but the girls did not know much about the Caverns. Did not try the restaraunt for dinner wanted sw food. The room was big the WiFi was better than other BW even though we were in the far end away from the front desk. We went in early March it was filled with pick up truck and heavy equpment trucks presumably from the oil drilling companies out there. Problem they left very early in the morning 5- 5:30 back up beeping and all.

The room was clean but will agree the towel very thin and scratch and they could up grade the TP. The breakfast was the standard BW fare , not bad have had worst free breakfast, however no visible waffle did not know you have to order them. But that is one reason we stay there we can eat and leave for Carlsbad Carverans with out any fuss. Not sure if I would stay there again or would try another establishment

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Like many others, we were on a weekend visit to Carlsbad Caverns. We had a free coupon for one night that we earned during a promotional period last year. We paid for the second night. Our room was on the ground floor, and while yes it had a cracked tile in the bathroom and the curtains could be hung better, overall it was a very pleasant room.

We had a king size bed with lots of pillows, thinner but adequate linens, the TV worked fine, two bathroom sinks and tons of counter space. I liked that the toilet and shower were separate from the sink area. Plenty of hot water and toiletries. We were in the wing farthest from the lounge and lobby. We like to keep the fan on to drown out other noises, but we did not hear any noise from other people or traffic.

It is a short walk down to Chili's, and there are sidewalks to use, another plus. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant for any dinner, but we did take advantage of the free breakfast buffet in the morning. The food is probably institutional in the way that means I'm sure it is not freshly made gravy, it is probably frozen or canned. That is not to say that it is bad, it's just missing that homemade or gourmet touch. There were pancakes, biscuits, gravy, fried potatoes, scrambled eggs and sausage patties on the hot buffet. The other side of the room had breads, cereals, and fruit.The friendliest wait staff you could hope for kept our coffee mugs filled and were on top of keeping the buffet stocked even near the closing time for later arrivals. They earn their tips.

We did stop into the lounge on our Friday dinner at Chili's; there is a cover charge of $5 but it is waived if you are a guest in the hotel. There was a DJ and lots of security, not obtrusive but present. The DJ played a decent variety of country, only a few hip hop songs and some line dance type of party music. It became more and more crowded, mostly 20's and 30's, but we did not feel out of place. Plenty of people dancing and having a good time. We left about 10pm; they make you exit through the outside where all the smokers are hanging out, but it was not a big deal.

The hotel is located on the main street of the town, just after a curve, so it was a little tricky making a left out of the parking lot but there is that middle lane to sit in while traffic clears. Carlsbad Caverns is less than an hour away, I didn't keep track very closely but maybe about 30 minutes. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed in Stevens Inn on business trip - older but well maintained - restruant newly remolded - staff very friendly and helpful. Will definetly stay here again. Have stayed at other newer motels in the area but they do not offer anything Stevens Inn doesn't are a lot more expensive. I try to spend the compaines money wisely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Bogota
Level Contributor
279 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We hadn't stayed in your classic drive-up roadside motel in awhile. The room was huge compared to modern hotels and had a double sink vanity which was nice. We had no noise from neighbors or traffic at all - completely quiet. Beds and linens were ok. Showers were ok. It's old, but has been maintained and somewhat updated. Breakfast was incredibly crowded and not good at all. But it was an ok choice for 1 night on a roadtrip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The rooms where clean and nice. Very comfortable. Great location for my needs at the time. The restaurant is excellent!!! Newly remodeled. The wait staff really tries to make your dining experience pleasant.
For the price a stay here is well worth it!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 19 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
18.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 3 in Whites City
3.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#1 of 19 in Carlsbad
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn

Address: 1829 South Canal Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevens Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western
Best Western Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.