We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably as good as you can expect in Carlsbad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2210 I West Pierce Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Carlsbad
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Probably as good as you can expect in Carlsbad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Carlsbad Caverns are a must-see, but there is no other reason to come to the town. Reading Trip Advisor I saw that hotels were expensive and had poor reviews, so we went for the brand name. Everything here is about as you would expect in a Holiday Inn Express. Service was good, location in an uninteresting shopping center, price too high, very modest breakfast. Avoid rooms with connecting doors, as you can clearly hear conversations and television through them.

Room Tip: Make sure that it does not connect to an adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    76
    34
    15
    13
See reviews for
70
60
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The second floor hallways smell. It is the noisiest place I have ever stayed in. It sounded like the Indy 500 all night long. The reply from the front desk was was "we had no complaints". Our room was not cleaned the second day and the front desk acted insulted because I asked for coffee and towels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Phil K,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for the unacceptable service you received during your stay and any inconvenience the noise may have caused you. I would also like to apologize for the unusual smell of our hallways. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Carlsbad, NM.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this comfortable updated hotel with friendly knowledgable staff, comfortable beds, and great showerheads. My only complaint was the hallway noise in the morning. We like to sleep in and each morning we could hear screaming kids and loud adults coming and returning from breakfast. The Carlsbad Caverns were amazing. Be sure to take the 1 mile hike through natural entrance to the Big Room 750 ft. below the surface. Since the main elevators are being worked on expect to wait 45 min to an hour to take an elevator back to the surface. For dinner, try Danny's BBQ and Yellow Brix.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonville, Missouri
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was glad to finally get a mini fridge during our vacation. This room also smelled great upon arrival. It had one of the biggest bathrooms and a fairly spacious rooms. The hotel was very clean, but it had to worst breakfast by far on our trip. The biscuits were rock hard, the sausage and eggs were burnt, and the juice was very watered down. We had a very hard time getting an extra blanket, but they were fully booked at the time we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed here and got one of the 2 Queen Suites. It was a nice big room with 2 tvs, fridge, sink, coffee maker. We were in room 315 which had a view of the parking lot, nothing much to see and that was the better view according to the front desk. Breakfast was served only until 9 so we missed that completely. The room cost us $159 with tax which I thought was high for the area but I guess they can get that because where else are you gonna stay that's clean and decent in the area? It was disappointing considering the Roswell Hampton gave us a room for $89. We went for the Caverns, it was about 30 miles away so going back and forth isn't really convenient. Overall it was a decent hotel, worthy of another stay, just get your family up early if you want breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on family vacation. It is typical for Holiday Inn Express, which is one of my preferred brands for family travel (other being Hampton Inn). Our room of 2Q was of good size and had flat screen TV and mini-fridge. Free breakfast was good, and the server did a decent job (but not fantastic) of keeping it stocked with the very busy crowd. Only problem was that the breakfast hours are shorter than normal, shutting down at 9:00 even on weekends. Also during check-in about 10 pm, there was one inexperienced (or incompetent) clerk working that couldn't seem to deal with the concept that we were staying for 2 nights, but had 2 reservations since we were using points for one night and paying for the other. Fortunately, the other clerk knew exactly what to do and stepped in and took care of us. After checkin, the rest of the stay was superb.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Our room was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was tasty. The room is overpriced, but the hotel/motels in Carslbad are all too expensive for the area. It is located on the north side of town, so it is about 45 min. from theCaverns

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 2210 I West Pierce Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Attractions Abound Near this Carlsbad, New Mexico Hotel In the heart of Eddy County in central New Mexico, you will find a comfortable place to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Carlsbad. Conveniently located near some of the world s finest caves, this is the perfect starting point for your New Mexico adventure.Our Carlsbad hotel is three miles from the Carlsbad City Airport (CNM); so getting to and from your flights will be no problem with our central location. Just minutes from the center of Carlsbad and within walking distance of many shops, our New Mexico hotel is near the Pecos River Convention Center and the Carlsbad Civic Center. Los Alamos National Labs and Sandia Labs are also situated close to our Carlsbad accommodations.Some of America s most famous caves, like the Carlsbad Caverns, are only a half-hour from our hotel in Carlsbad. Lodging here also keeps you near the Living Desert State Park and Zoo and the River Walk and Recreation Center, located on the beautiful Pecos River. Brantley Lake State Park, a 20 minute drive from our Carlsbad hotel, offers a number of walking and hiking trails. Our Carlsbad hotel offers choice amenities like a recently renovated Fitness Center and whirlpool. From the complimentary hot breakfast bar and free high-speed Internet access to the triple-sheeted bedding, we go beyond discount hotels in Carlsbad, NM to offer you an enjoyable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Express Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.