We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Suites & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Executive Suites & Hotel to your Saves list
Executive Suites & Hotel
601 S. Canal, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No way.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Unfortunately all of the decent (=expensive) hotels in Carlsbad were fully booked by the time I arrived - one of them pointed me towards this hotel as one of the only ones with availability, so I gamely hopped back in the car thinking "well, the name sounds promising and the price is a lot more reasonable than most of the hotels in this town..."

You know it's bad when the front desk themselves hands you the key to a room before taking down any of your personal information and suggests you check it out first because "some people decide not to stay here after they see the rooms."

(Actually, on that note, I have to admit the honest service may be the one positive about this hotel.)

Sure enough, I only got about two steps inside the room (which was a bit of an adventure itself since neither the main light switch nor the bare-bulb floor lamp without no lampshade plugged in also just inside the door functioned) before turning on my heels and jumping back on my iPhone to find ANY possible alternative, at any cost. Lesson learned: unfortunately Carlsbad is remote so the acceptable hotels can charge an arm and a leg for a room that in any other city would be $50 cheaper. See my other reviews for a better option for the Caverns.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    6
    62
See reviews for
21
17
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smyer, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

In the35 years in staying in hotels, this is one of the nastiest places I have ever had to stay. I actually went to Walmart and bought sheets and a clean pillow, My sons chicken pen is cleaner than this place. DO NOT STAY HERE. NASTY, NASTY, NASTY.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been in the travel industry for 21 years and have NEVER come across a hotel so horrible. Bed sheets are filthy with pubic hairs, standing bbqs all over the place, looks like a homeless hotel. Not to mention I was overcharged on the taxes and charged for two nights instead of one to the tune of $170.00. One night room rate WITH taxes should had been $69.62. AND he charged my card at time of check IN not out. Under no circumstances should this hotel be standing. it should be condemned.

Room Tip: Go to the Best western down the street. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

So my mom booked this hotel for us without reading the reviews even though I told her the reviews for this place was bad. We were looking for a place with a working pool. The saving grace for us was that the pool did not work. Thankfully we did not have to stay there. We did not get checked in, but from what I saw of the lobby I agree with all of the reviews. The smell was horrible, there were ceiling tiles tucked away in a corner. Lots of junk everywhere just in the lobby, and of course the pool did not work. Do not stay here if you can help it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Heed ALL the warnings you read about this place. It is absolutely true. In no way is there any luxury at this dump as advertised on their sign. First and foremost, the other reviews are correct and the guy at the desk confirmed they cater to the oil field workers and are always full. What does that tell you?
I was just there at the beginning of the last week of June 2012 for one night just passing through town. The A/C did not work in the lobby, they were also storing some kind of building materials in the lobby next to the stairwell that went upstairs to some kind of room but I wasn't going to find out what it looked like. Although I know how it works and how its used, the guy at the desk told me how to open the front door of the room because it was not working properly. Hmmm. Should have went another place just then!! When opening the door, as stated in other posts, the front door latch was broken, after searching as to why the lights in the room did not work it was because they were all unplugged and one outlet was actually coming out of the wall. The carpet is absolutely dirty and gross! DO NOT TAKE YOUR SHOES OFF when walking around inside the room! All the bed lined is worn as are the bathroom towels. Thread thin, dirty with holes in them. No drain stoppers in sink or tub. Its obvious there have been leaks in the bathroom with 3 wooden covers screwed to the walls in various places where repairs have been made. There was even a large hole around the bathtub water shutoff valve. There were no places to hang your towels because its obvious the towel bars either fell off or were stolen and certainly not replaced. The recessed light cover above the sink was falling down and very dirty! After all this there was no way in hell I would see what was served at the continental breakfast. Runaway and don't stay there!!!

Room Tip: There cannot be any good rooms. Pay a little more and stay elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The room was not clean. The bedding was dirty. The sink and tub did not have stoppers in the drains to hold water. The drains all had hair visible in them. The towels were thread bare and had holes in them. The wash cloths looked like they had been used to clean an old car engine and then washed without bleach. The TV worked, but the service was so poor that you spent most of you time watching it reload until in frustration you turned it off. The mirror was off the wall and on the floor. If you have any standards at all, you will not find this hotel acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I called to make a personal reservation at 12 noon prior to our arrival, and when i arrived to check in at 7 pm, the motel
Clerk said only suites were available. Just 1 min prior to my arrival the clerk gave a last min basic room to a man , saying the room would be ready in 15 mins . When i asked why i called to reserve a room i was told a basic room
Non smoking would be available now only a 160 suite was available the clerk said it was because i was late checking in. It was 7pm in evening. I originally told clerk 9 pm. She flat out lied and said i did not tell her. Then she said she would get a room the a another clerk said he would give me a room and torn up my form. All this why he let his young sons laugh at the situation. In general they were unprofessional and RUDE. Now i know why they were the last on 12 hotels in town to have rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Executive Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Suites & Hotel

Address: 601 S. Canal, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Executive Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Suites And Hotel
Marriott Execustay Carlsbad
Executive Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Suites & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.