We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best to avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Suites & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Executive Suites & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Executive Suites & Hotel
601 S. Canal, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Carlsbad
North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best to avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This property may look OK from the outside, but forget it. Filthy and not maintained.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    6
    58
See reviews for
21
16
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

I checked the sheets as always. And there was poop stains on the sheets from whoever stayed before me. The floor of the bathroom had pubic hairs covering the floor and tub. I will try to add pictures of.the sheets.to.this website.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a cheap place to rest along the way, DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Please heed the warning. If you stay here, you'll be on TripAdvisor immediately trying to save humanity from this hell hole!

1. The sign out front advertises luxury. It's obviously not luxurious, and one can clearly see that from the exterior of the hotel but still...

2. The owners/managers were very friendly, so we were pleased when we were checking in. However, I believe they must be trying to divert your attention from the crappiness of the accommodations and their awful customer service. Read on for details.

3. They also advertise free wi-fi on their signage. However, they provided a non-working password. The network they provided did not exist. When I walked to the lobby for a correct network and password, they told me to get on a neighboring unsecured/unlocked network - one that evidently did not belong to the hotel and had a weak signal. The husband wouldn't even get up to assist...his wife just yelled at him from around the corner, and he yelled back. They probably got their Internet cut off and are trying to exploit their neighbors' working Internet.

4. Again, they advertise free breakfast on the sign out front. There is also a sign in the lobby advertising the same. There was no such thing. Not even free coffee.

5. We rented two double rooms because we have five children. The key would not work for one of the rooms, so all seven of us waited in one room while we walked back and forth to the lobby FIVE TIMES asking for them to fix the problem. The first time, they gave us a new key. After that key didn't work, we walked over again and they said they would send someone over. When they never showed up, we went back again, and they were like, "your rooms are connected, you should be able to get in to the other room through the room that is open." I told them we couldn't get in through the interior door until they let us in the other room to unlock it. Duh. We FINALLY got them to get their lazy butts over to the room to open the door.

6. When our 11 year old accidentally shut the interior door, thereby locking us out of the other room, they sort of got into us for making them come back to open it. They never gave us a working key. They just put the burden on us to make sure we didn't close that interior door!!

7. We had two microwaves in our room. One sat directly on the floor. Our children had a coffee maker in their room; we did not have one. Not a big deal really; I just thought it was weird.

8. When we were checking in, we indicated we were all starving and craving Mexican food reallly bad. The owner/manager recommended a Mexican restaurant right next door that he assured was the very best. We were so excited to be heading to a much anticipated Mexican meal as we walked over. It was closed, so we spent an hour driving around town looking for a place to eat. The guy failed to tell us that ALL the Mexican restaurants in Carlsbad are closed on Sundays and Mondays. Again, not a big deal, but he was about 0 for 10 right around the time we got that news, so I decided to put it up here.

Don't count on a restaurant recommendation from this place, and DEAR GOD, don't expect a good hotel experience!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

We came here to escape our other hotel. We were hoping for a Nicer room, bug free, and clean. Here is what we got. 1 front door with a broken security latch, a pair of broken blinds, 1 adjoining room door with no deadbolt, but a chair was pushed in front of it to "lock" ( if I has not been a guy with a 9mm pistol in my bag, I would have left) a broken blower dryer and a nightmare. Rm 111 stayed in march. Btw the breakfast is probably left overs from a soup kitchen. Management is a joke.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way back home to Texas.

The man at the front desk was very nice.

Yes, it looks grungy from the outside, yes the rooms aren't the cleanest, yes there are BBQ pits outside, yes it may not be the safest, yes construction and oil workers probably live here. This is all obvious.

But ... Our sheets were clean, our bed was comfy, and we were totally safe. Average hotel prices these days are well over $100 a night. So ... what do you think you are going to get from a place that only charges $50? You got it ... a place that is not as nice.

We probably won't stay here again but for the short 12 hours we were there ... it was just fine.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

This is the worst experience I've had with any hotel. Despite being a very polite individual, I was greeted rudely over the phone. At check-in, they used no compute system and had a mess of papers. I didn't get any kind of a king suite that I reserved, and I don't believe they have a king suite. We went into our room to see 2 beds like a normal room. I couldn't see the full condition of the room since the only working light was in the bathroom. I'm working on getting a reimbursement, but doubtful considering I can't get a hold of the manager. Teribble...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The red flags are there from the start... They have a webite but all your ppwk is held and handled on paper forms(shady). Breakfast is a cereal dispenser and a gallon of milk on the counter. Rooms smell of disinfectant and restrooms have paint over mold. When finally checking out, the person at the counter pulls out a small calculator and you're handed a tiny, non-itemized paper receipt.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Suites & Hotel

Address: 601 S. Canal, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Executive Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Suites And Hotel
Marriott Execustay Carlsbad
Executive Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Suites & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.