We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Room Somewhat Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Inn

Save Saved
You added Carlsbad Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlsbad Inn
2019 S Canal, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Carlsbad
Silver City, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic Room Somewhat Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The property was average for non-brand. Older structre, coarse towels in the bathroom and thin sheets on the bed... but it was clean and tidy. Price was high for what you got, but the oil and gas boom in the area has driven all prices up. If you're on a budget, this place is ok... not my first pick, but affordable. Oh - it abuts the main highway, so don't expect quiet! The work trucks and hot rods run up and down the street all day and night.

Room Tip: Might ask for the back of the property to get farther away from road noise. Upstairs room preferabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
6
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked here because all the other hotels were full. It's a 1950's era motel and believe it or not they still have the original towels! They were so stained and thread bare I skipped my shower. The sheets were limp and grayish......OLD. Had to kill some small bugs in the bathroom. Neither the windows or the door closed very well. The rubber on the bottom of the door was hanging off. There were 2 double beds, a table and 2 chairs crammed in the room. The room had an old smell - I did check for bedbugs and the fact that I didn't find any was the only good thing about the room. Better off sleeping in the car! We paid $100 for a $20 room.

Room Tip: I doubt that there is a Good room. There is no pride in ownership of this motel. They certainly ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

whilst on our roadtrip from the west coast to east coast of the usa we decided to stop at Carlsbad for the night time bat flight at the caverns and the caverns themselves, after hours of searching to try and find a average priced room anywhere near the caverns - all the other towns apart from Carlsbad are ghost towns, you would have to travel very far to go see the caverns. all the other motels / hotels were fully booked and insanely over priced !

we ended up going for the Carlsbad inn at a massive $80 dollars a night - or so we thought, it was actually $100 when we got there ( even with tax it doesn't come near $100, so god knows what he charged extra for ) !!!!!!

good points
* it is near the town centre with walmart close by and 20-30min drive away from caverns.
* it was clean
* parking was okay
* a/c worked fine
* there was a medium sized fridge
* seamed like a safe area
* wifi seamed okay

bad points
* NO BREAKFAST !!!!
* very basic rooms with old style t.vs
* receptionist wasn't very friendly
* expensive
* dated room

Room Tip: just make sure you ask for the full price inc all charges !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Note that if you are traveling to Carlsbad, they are in the middle of an oil boom. So if you arrive in town expecting to get a decent hotel room without an advance reservation, you can forget that. The rooms are sold out and that's the reason we ended up here. Aside from the roughnecks barbecuing on their tailgates (which might have been better than our meal),this place is the pits. Cigarette butts all over the stairs and parking lot along with Q-tips (why???). Get in the room and it's a dive. The TV remote doesn't work, the towels are threadbare, the window in the bathroom doesn't close letting the bugs in and the lamp didn't even have a cord to the wall to plug it in. This place sucked, so much so that when you checked out in the morning, the owner didn't even want to deal with you. You just dropped your key in a bucket on the desk. If its all you got, good luck.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Dated but clean room and everything worked as promised. Sparkling if a bit chilly pool and nice lawn space with playground and picnic area for kids. Great big ice machine with plenty of ice. I would have considered this place very good except that the $79 cost seemed high compared to comparable rooms in Truth or Consequences and Las Cruces, but I think other places in Carlsbad were equally expensive for the money. For what it is worth, the manager was nice to us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

My top priority is that the place is clean. This place is very clean. Furniture is outdated and old. If that bothers you then go elsewhere.
Free WiFi and a good shower. They have a pool and a pretty nice playground that I can see kids loving it.
My only complaint would be the front desk gentlemen. He has a bit of an attitude and if you were having problems , he's not helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Such an amazing get away....so relaxing... Just what the dr. Ordered!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
3.6 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Free internet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
17.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
3.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn
BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn
#4 of 15 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn

Address: 2019 S Canal, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlsbad Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.