We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and tastless....poor quality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Larez Restaurant

Larez Restaurant
1524 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220
505 885 5113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 59 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“expensive and tastless....poor quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

1 enchlada,no sides,no salad,very small $8.50 1 Chulapa also very small,no sides,no salid more like a snack, not a meal, $6.50..no salsa on it verry bland..sauce on enchilada also bland no flavor..need some spice..not hot spice just spice salt pepper cumin. garlic..you know flavor..Go to Taco Bell..cheeper and better food..service was also bad.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kat88220, Owner at Larez Restaurant, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Its unfortunate that the information you provided in this review is incorrect. I was informed by our waitress your discontentment was initiated in a rude manner under your breath as you walked out of our business. I would have loved the opportunity to address your complaint in person as I was in the kitchen at the time of your visit. It would have given me the opportunity to compensate you for any part of the meal you were dissatisfied with. Our plate of enchiladas contain three corn tortillas with cheese and onion and a salad garnishment with a choice of red or green sauce for 7.50 a plate. Each additional side: rice, beans, meat, egg, ect., is only an additional .95. Our Chalupa contains a fried corn tortilla 10 inches in dia. beans meat cheese, topped with salad for 6.50. The first serving of chips and salsa is free. after that each addition bowl of chips is .75. If my addition is correct including tea or a soft drink your meal price would have been under $20.00! Our food is ALL HOMEMADE! prepared fresh everyday! We use only the best and fresh ingredients I am amazed you did not request to talk to the owners I would have been more then willing to listen to your complaint. We have been the same owners and cooks for 40 years and have a strong customer base! It's a shame consumers get use to eating processed foods all the time, for example Taco Bell, they often forget how real food should taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good home-cooked Mexican food. CLEAN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Always rates one of, if not the, cleanest restaurants in Carlsbad, as shown in the local paper NM state health inspections. Good food, good selection, good kid's menu, great salsa selections. Nice little buffet at lunch during the week. Family owned and operated, so unfortunately, it closes mid-day and weekends like most of the restaurants in Carlsbad. Many tourists are put-off by this local practice, considering this is a tourist town. Oh well. If you can get in while they're open, it's pretty good food,and good service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
1 review
“Staff not interested in serving us.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

6 adults and 2 children walked in at 6:30 pm to a half empty restaurant. Two older people walked in behind us. Staff ignored us, asked who was first - older people said they were. Staff ignored us some more as we tried to gently give our number in party. Waitress finally said to our group that it would be at least an hour before they could feed us and that there was another restaurant down the road. Someone behind us said that place was closed, and admid other suggestions, we walked out. Hampton Inn where we were staying recommended this place as good local food. For whatever it is worth, we are a white family and also New Mexico residents. No idea what was going on here, but it was the holidays and there were lots of tourists in town for Christmas on the Pecos and the Caverns.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kat88220, Manager at Larez Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Larez restaurant welcomes the reviews of customers who have joined us for lunch and/or dinner. The couple who wrote their review did not even eat at our restaurant but left after being informed of a 40 minute wait for a group of six....... 40 minutes from the time they were seated, drinks served and food served. The group still refused to wait. They continued to remark about our staffs non-intrest and made a comment on race. My 73-year-old mother has been the only cook for the last 40 years with me by her side as a prep. She prepares every dish herself and and takes pride in it's presentation. the waitstaff are a mother/daughter team who have been with us for a combination of 25 years. My mother and I and our whole staff were born American citizens and very proud of our country. Our menu states we are not a fast food restaurant and it does take time to prepare quality food. We will not accept parties of ten or more without a reservation. It was unfortunate, this group was not able to join us for dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augres, mi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2005

We read several travel book reviews, although there were no user reviews on trip advisor. The travel book reviews were very positive, and we had recommendations from some workers at the Carlsbad Caverns, that sounded sincere. Nonetheless, we were very disappointed. The prices were fine, not expensive. But we had the enchilada style burrito, and it was mostly beans, little beef. And it had little seasoning. It seemed to be real mild and middle of the road. I'll take Maudie's in Austin any day.

The service was okay; although the served my wife the wrong dish and they were so slow with the second beer that my food came first. But the waitress tried hard.

This place is nothing special. Try something else. I heard Tina's is pretty good, but I'll probably never find out if it's any better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kat88220, Manager at Larez Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
The enchildada style buritto is mostly beans as it states in our menu. If you are a customer who likes more meat. please fill free to request ground beef, chicken or roastbeef. Our meats are boiled in water ONLY (never fried) with very little seasoning, most of our customers are not able to tolerate salt or chile seeds and are allergic to spices such as cumin, but you can request your plates to be made spicy HOT!!! Our salsa is mild but if you want chunky hot salsa ask for a side of fresh pico. We are a MSG free restaurant and vegetarian friendly. We do not use any meat broth in any of our sauses. This review was written in 2005 we are still the same owners and have been for the last 40 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Larez Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larez Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.