We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers, quirky fun place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy's

Happy's
4103 Natl Pks, Carlsbad, NM 88220
+1 505-887-8489
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $2 - $9
Restaurant details
El Paso, Tx
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great burgers, quirky fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place has it's own way of doing things. It's not fast, but the burgers are very good. I'm not a burger lover, but the burgers here are delicious and some of the best I've had anywhere. But it's definitely not the place to come if you're in a hurry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    4
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Only if you are desperate for a burger and not in a hurry.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Happy's is great if you don't mind waiting for 40 minutes at a table that they might have wiped at yesterday for the wrong order to be served by someone who obviously hasn't done laundry in a while. the food itself is actually not bad if you are willing to eat whatever they bring you and can't remember far enough back in time to be sure what you asked for. The atmosphere is a lovely patina of age and neglect but the entertainment of watching sparrows pick smashed bugs out of pickup truck radiators can't be beat. This little dirt place is the best way to really get the true flavor of this little dirt neighborhood.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Downhome cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We like to visit hole in the wall places, and this is a must visit. The food is cooked on an old stove, tastes homemade and the prices are reasonable. Food is served on disposable plates, and you use plastic forks, but it was great, easy clean up for us, and we enjoyed it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local folks good food & good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Local folks/homey. good food and great big hamburgers-yum!
And went back for a full breakfast-very good and great value.
Order at counter, staff served and plastic forks/knives/spoon

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy's in Carlsbad, New Mexico. Just like goin' home to momma's for breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My twelve-year-old boy and I were about a quarter way through a two-thousand mile adventure through scientific sites, historical sites and geological sites through the Southwest. We were staying at a nearby hotel that we thought included a breakfast meal (ick!!) before we headed to see Carlsbad Caverns. We wanted a good breakfast so we were prepared for our adventurous spelunking. What a sight for sore eyes Happy's was. A terrific breakfast meal that was akin to going home to momma's !! The wait staff and cook were friendly and it was interesting to read up on the owner (see pictures and posters on the back wall) who had been a movie extra great from the area!

Eat here!! You won't regret it ... and of course (it's just too obvious) ... you will be "happy" afterwards!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy's also viewed

 

Been to Happy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.