We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy little find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy's

Happy's
4103 Natl Pks, Carlsbad, NM 88220
505 887 8489
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 59 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Restaurant details
New Orleans
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Happy little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a very good breakfast. The food is made to order. The servers was friendly. The coffee was very good an strong. All in all it was a nice way to start the day.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    4
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Food was ok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We wanted to check this place out because of the reviews. The food was ok, nothing spectacular, but prices were good. We had 1/2 lb burgers, Texas toothpicks, and chicken strips. The frys were good, and burgers were standard. I had the green chile added to mine. I guess I was expecting it to be hot, but it was not. The decor is cute, lots of yellow smileys. The service was great, workers were super friendly, and were interested in us as people not just customers! Lots of local people were there too, workers called locals by their names. That was nice to hear. I have photos, and will upload later.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Generous Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Four of us had breakfast here so had a pretty good variety and found everything to be good. Biscuits and gravy, huevos rancheros, pancakes were huge and delicious.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gem of a dive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We left Carlsbad Caverns and wanted somewhere close to eat. About 15 minutes down the road we discovered Happy's. When we first walked we almost turned around and walked out. It's a little dumpy and a little dated but we were so hungry we decided to stay. We're sure glad we did! The whole family got burgers and chili cheese fries. The burgers were great and the fries were pretty good too. The woman working behind the counter was super friendly and helpful. If you happen by Happy's, I suggest you give their burgers a try!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, but the restaurant itself left much to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We had the 1/2 lb burgers and we all thought they were excellent. They had great bark on the outside yet were nice and juicy inside. The chili-cheese fries were really good, too. Prices were good. The restaurant itself was a downer, though. Dead flies on the window sills and, worst of all, the service was horribly slow. We waited over 30 minutes for our burgers. Has the potential to be great, but the restaurant really needs to be cleaned up and service needs to be seriously improved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy's also viewed

 

Been to Happy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.