We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brantley Lake State Park

Brantley Lake State Park
P.O. Box 2288, Carlsbad, NM
505-457-2384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Carlsbad
Attraction details
NYC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Review on CAMPING.
The only reason I didn't give this park 5 stars was because it was a bit out of the way. Otherwise, fantastic.

We camped at Brantley Lake State Park while visiting Carlsbad Caverns. While the maps may say it is 13 miles from Carlsbad, bear in mind that (a) the Caverns are a distance PAST the town and the drive will be more like an hour from the campground to the caverns, and (b) the "driveway" into Carlsbad is quite long (7 miles-ish) so just because you're at the entry doesn't mean you're "home" - it's a long ride on a slow road.

The campground is pleasant and quiet with clean bathrooms and hook ups. The picnic tables are covered which is great for the hot sun of NM. Camping sites are spaced nicely apart so you aren't all up in each others' business.

We had the pleasure of hearing coyotes early one morning before sunrise.

The only downside was that there is a grill but fire pits are prohibited (I'm guessing because of the dryness - thus fire threat - typical to NM) so campfires aren't really possible.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great State Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We loved our two nights at Brantley Lake. We went to Carlsbad mainly for the Caverns but were glad we picked to stay 30 miles north at Lake Brantley. We had tons of room, it was the clean, the kids loved the playground and lake. Nothing negative. Don't miss going to Living Zoo - kids loved it :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overnighter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stopped here in early August 2012 on my way to Carlsbad Caverns for the night. Carlsbad was less than an hour away so it was a good place to camp for the night. They had power hookups, water, flush toilets, and showers. The place was about a third full. I can't remember the fee to get in but it was cheap, less than $20.
I was fascinated by the landscape in the area as I had never been in a desert before (I'm from Atlanta). This was my first night of a 1 month camping road trip and I was nervous and not very experienced. Everywhere I stepped I expected to see a rattlesnake or scorpion but luckily I encountered neither. I slept on top of my sleeping bag in only shorts that night with the rain cap off and enjoyed the light breeze.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
185 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
“Picnic lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a picnic lunch recently at Brantley Lake State Park. It's located about ten minutes north of Carlsbad. We were staying at the KOA nearby, so we decided to bring a picnic lunch and check it out.

There's a small day use fee to enter; I think it was $5. No one was in the entry booth so we did the self pay. We drove a short ways to the picnic area, which was very nice. It had four or five picnic tables with roofs, park grills (taped over due to the current fire ban), garbage cans. The picnic area was extremely clean. Bathrooms (vault toilets) were a short walk away. The picnic area sits on a hill overlooking the lake.

After eating, we walked down to the lake. I was expecting a sand beach where people could wade and swim, but there was no beach and no people swimming in the water. We later noticed a sign recommending people not eat the fish they catch due to contamination in the lake water. I'm guessing that's why no one was swimming or wading. We did see several boats and jet skis out on the lake. Some of the boats were speeding around quite fast.

There was a nice fishing dock on the lake; it had an open area in the center so you could drop your fishing line down right there. There was also a cement boat ramp nearby.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brantley Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Brantley Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brantley Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.