We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & comfy too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 South Canal Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Biloxi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice & comfy too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After a long day's drive it was great to have such a nice clean comfy place to stay. The room was very clean & the beds were great. Nice selection of pillows on each bed, nice bathroon amenities, good towels, etc. Prices in Carlsbad are higher than usual, so I'm glad the hotel's standards are high so you feel ok about the price. Front desk staff very nice & friendly, with helpful dinner suggestions. I think this is the best place to stay in Carlsbad!

Room Tip: Stay on the south & west side of the hotel for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are so glad you had a good time with us. Our team works had to continue to give Great Service and it sounds like it paid off.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    68
    47
    10
    11
See reviews for
81
43
4
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved this hotel. The linens, the tv, the bed, the pool, and especially the breakfast - all delightful. If I had to be picky, I did wonder why did the two front desk staff were often in the back room. When I needed something, I just went to the side door (which was open), and interrupted their typing/conversation/whatever. Why not put the computer up front? Then the staff can do their computer work, and their guests don't have to hunt them down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank You so much for your kind words about our property and our team. We continue to work very hard trying to give the best service possible. Thank You Again and Please come back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair Bluffs, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Typical Marriott ...good time to USE points due to higher than usual pricing. Ref laundry pool brealfask newspaper.... gpod locatiom. Moved here after terroble experience at B/W Stevens ( don't even consider them)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank You for staying with us. Your kind words about our property is nice and I'll let my team know. Next time your in Carlsbad please keep us in mind.
Thank You Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Clean, quiet and restful. Windows open, and lobby is filled with treats if you need them. At the edge of town which makes it seem safer and cleaner. Very nice at the end of a long hot day driving.

It seems the brand is upgrading lots of properties. A bit pricey but worth, but noisy on the pool side into the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank You so much for staying with us. I'm glad you had a good time here. My team works had to keep the rooms clean and make your stay an enjoyable one.
Please come again when you have a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

One of the cleanest and nicest hotels I have stayed in period, not just in Carlsbad. Good selection for breakfast, heated pool and spa (ask at the front desk for pool towels). The room was outstanding; flat screen tv and directv programming. The bed was so comfortable we plan on purchasing one from shopmarriott.com. I would highly recommend this place if visiting Carlsbad or the caverns. It was very nice to relax in the hot tub after a long day walking the caverns. IHOP is right next door with kids eat free from 4 to 10 PM.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank You so much for your kind words about our staff and property. We do work very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache, OK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during spring break this year. It was overpriced for the accommodations that was provided. The room was small but OK, but dirty linen was left in bathroom. The breakfast was better than average. The staff was not particularly friendly and I was left with the impression that they really didn't care whether we stayed there or the Hampton. Our stay was OK but certainly did not live up to our expectations of this hotel chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
My sorry we didn't meet your expectations. As far as price Carlsbad is going though an Oil Boom and there are a couple of hotels are priced even higher then we are.

Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed two nights in Carlsbad while on a tour of west Texas and the caverns. I used my Marriott reward points to book the room so cannot comment on the value. They gave us a room right in front of the elevator however it was a mini-suite (with a living room area) facing the back of the hotel, so it was very quiet.

Room was very clean, hotel looked great in general. The breakfast is great! Wide choice including brand sandwiches. Careful however, they closed breakfast before the time indicated in the hotel directory in the room.

Stay away from the IHOP right next door, they are overwhelmed and it appears very badly managed. The Chili's a couple blocks north wasn't great either unless you like the oil rig galley atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank You for your compliments about our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the breakfast closing early and I will check on that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 2525 South Canal Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad New Mexico is just minutes away from the famous Carlsbad Caverns National Park, the Living Desert Zoo & Gardens State Park and the Pecos River. Experience more than 117 known caves at the Carlsbad Caverns - all formed when sulfuric acid dissolved the surrounding limestone. Located in the northern part of the Chuhuahuan Desert, Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad New Mexico is centrally located to Roswell, Artesia, El Paso, and Midland. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad New Mexico provides you with just what you need, and skip what you don't, so travel is easy and productive. Our knowledgeable and courteous staff is available to help 24 hours a day. Take advantage of our complimentary amenities at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad New Mexico, including breakfast, in-room high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi in the lobby. Enjoy comfortable and spacious guest rooms that allow you to work and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Fairfield Inn And Suites Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.