We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, educational, fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park

Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park
1504 Miehls Drive N., Carlsbad, NM 88220
575-887-5516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 attractions in Carlsbad
Type: State Parks, Zoos, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Overlooking the Pecos River Valley, this fascinating park exhibits the varied plant and animal life of the arid Chihuahuan Desert region. Visitors can observe caged animals like snakes, lizards and birds of prey, plus larger animals such as bison and antelope, which are held in pens. Or walk along a nature trail past cacti, agaves, yuccas and other native plant life.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting, educational, fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Visitor's Center is a mini-museum of geology and the flora and fauna of the desert. The grounds include natural, living examples of the various ecological niches of the Chihuahuan Desert, complete with both an oasis and a good sampling of animals in clean, spacious, appropriate enclosures. There is a hot house filled with various cacti, and there are also hiking trails if one desires even more activity. Wonderful place for children!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    55
    27
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
near Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was excited to visit the Living Desert Zoo and Gardens after reading about it online because I wanted to know what animals and plants are typically found in the area. I was disappointed. Although the entrance building is new and beautiful, the zoo portion is very old and tired. The animals are kept in very small enclosures and the grounds were not very clean. There were lots of plantings, but most were not identified. I will not return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Wonderful, quiet, and super cool!! I do suggest getting out there very early (before it starts getting warm). A lot of the animals were hiding out because it was getting warm but still very nice zoo!! Had a great time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Garden & Small Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our third visit to Carlsbad and the Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park. The unique gardens and small zoo are wonderful. They present informative & interesting exhibits of local flora and fauna native to the Chihuahuan Desert. This is a "MUST SEE" for visitors to Carlsbad. We recommend visiting during the cool morning hours if you are there during the hot summer months. The visitor center is very nice and it has very clean bathrooms. We received a reduced admission since we have memberships in our hometown zoo and museum through their reciprocal agreement.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice zoo and gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Could see animals and birds up close. Nice selection of different American animals. Nice explanation of some of the local vegetation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park also viewed

 

Been to Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.