We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlsbad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Esperanza Circle, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Caverns Admission
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boca Raton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carlsbad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel sits back from the road. The room was very clean. I had a long day. It was nice to be able to walk to the Chili's for dinner. Hotel is on the south side of downtown. It was very, very busy from 5:00-8:00 pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel cleanliness and are glad to hear our hotel location was to your liking. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    51
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
79
50
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Merkel, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and the dining room was clean. Our room was clean and cool, no funny smells. Located next to Walmart and Chili's. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding hotel staff service, breakfast taste and hotel cleanliness. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel was the same as the ones I stayed at in El Paso and Nashville...very good for what I needed. Wi-Fi, refrigerator and microwave are handy and convenient. Breakfast was extensive from fruit, oatmeal, cereal, eggs, waffle, etc. Only issue I had is with the price of this hotel. The same room in Nashville is $80 cheaper than the one in Carlsbad, i.e., $219 vs. $139.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. Our current pricing is based on market conditions in the city and as those factors change, our prices will change accordingly. We hope to provide value by providing exceptional service and great amenities compared to our competitors in the mid scale hotel market in Carlsbad, NM. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night while touring the caverns. Our check in was quick and the girl at the front desk had a very capable and kind demeanor. Our room was quiet, clean and had comfortable beds. It also had a mini fridge so that we could cool our water bottles for the next day. The hotel seemed to be mostly filled with business travelers. We got to bed a bit late after watching the bats at the caverns and our room was very quiet. The next day we got up and had a delicious breakfast. I had a wonderful conversation with the lady who attended breakfast. She told me all about the oil industry in the area and I learned a lot. Breakfast was delicious with baked goods, hot items and make your own waffles. Afterwards our family went to the pool and we were the only ones there. The pool was clean and had clean towels available. We seek out hotels that are quiet and clean and this did not disappoint!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a great experience and stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. Thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel cleanliness, room comfort, staff service, breakfast products and pool facilities. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was RIDICULOUSLY OVERPRICED!!!! We paid a STUPID amount for a plain double room during the week! Would hate to see its price for the weekend or a holiday!!!! The staff was friendly and courteous, but they don't control the prices!! I felt robbed, and was embarrassed because I had bragged to my mother about how wonderful Hampton inn was, and we felt like we had been SEVERLY RIPPED OFF!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel staff and we appreciate your business. We understand you had a concern with price. Our current pricing is based on market conditions in Carlsbad, NM. Due to the increased corporate travel, Carlsbad stays sold out Monday to Thursday year round and as a result prices are higher during the week than on weekends. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I can't say I've ever been disappointed in a Hampton Inn. Service was great. No problems with check in. Breakfast had great selections but it would have been nice to have fresh fruit and Soy milk options. Compared to other hotels in the area I felt it was a bit overpriced, but overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding the service you received from our hotel staff. Hampton hotels is always looking at different options to make the breakfast provided better. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room we had (two queens on 3rd floor) was exceptionally clean and the staff were very friendly. The Hampton Inn and Suites is a little more pricey than the rest of the competition, and located along the main thoroughfare in town - behind a Chilis restaurant (skip it - horrible food there), gas station and car wash as well as next to WalMart. The premises Note- don't enter at WalMart's parking lot, it isn't connected to the hotel's parking lot. We were there over 4th of July so there was a little more noise (fireworks outside) than the previous night, there are floor creaks from the 4th floor, and the air conditioner is a little noisy as well.

Room Tip: Away from the main highway might be quieter. Higher floors are less noisy - note the floors are wood...
See more room tips
Green Features: They used green-ware, but did not offer recycling.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel staff and cleanliness. We have alerted our engineering department to check all air conditioners for irregular noises. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 120 Esperanza Circle, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.