We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, high priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Esperanza Circle, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, high priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is brand new and the place sparkles! Loved it. And, the front desk staff is so nice, both shifts. However, I only stayed one night, when I wanted to stay in Carlsbad for 2 nights, due to the $200 outrageous price. However, I've stayed in other Carlsbad hotels, and I can't do the caverns with a lousy night sleep, so I just paid the extra price and drove home after the caverns. It was tough! But, the overall stay experience for those who care more about experience rather than price: this is the hotel in Carlsbad for you!

Room Tip: Don't eat at the Chinese buffet just down the block. Go to Chili's. Trust me on this one! T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. We understand you had a concern with price. Our current pricing is based on the market conditions in Carlsbad and as those conditions change our pricing will change accordingly. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    60
    21
    11
    2
See reviews for
92
58
4
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

If you're on a tight budget or want a poor experience, try one of the other less expensive and shabby hotels in town.

But...if you'd like a nice room in a well-maintained property and are willing to pay for quality, this hotel is for you!!!

Staff was wonderful, a great experience from start to finish.

Will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Carlsbad!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. We look forward to being your host on future trips to Carlsbad, NM. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel is brand new and in Carlsbad, where I have lived much of my life, it is the best by far. You will pay a little more than you would expect from a smaller town, but new hotel and clean rooms, to me, make it worth it. Location is convenient as it is next door to a Wal-Mart which is only superstore in town in case you need something. It is a good place to stay for the Caverns as there is no other place closer that is even close in quality. Also, front desk service is very good and not out to gouge you if you make a mistake. Everytime I go to Carlsbad, this is where I stay.

Room Tip: I would prefer a lower floor as there are only two elevators and they are slower models.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we appreciate your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel and staff. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night so that we could visit the caverns the next morning and head on our way. This hotel seemed the best of a limited set of choices in Carlsbad based on the reviews online.

The staff was very very friendly and helpful. We had a courteous and smooth checkin, and later when we wanted to get some restaurant suggestions the staff at the desk made several suggestions. The waitstaff in the breakfast area was super friendly and repeatedly offered to bring some of our food to the table (although it was set up as self serve).

The rooms are relatively new with decent furniture. Everything was super clean. The bathrooms were well equipped and functional. About the only thing I found out of place was that the coffee maker had been placed in the bathroom instead of the bedroom. The beds were nice with fresh sheets and pillows.

We had breakfast the next morning. As noted above - the staff was running around keeping everything stocked and served us a hot omlette. There was a good selection of self-serve items and everything was fresh and clean.

The hotel is located right next to a Walmart that's open 24x7. Within a 5 minute drive there are several dining choices.

Overall this was a very good hotel to stay in. The price per night was more San Francisco than Carlsbad - but we knew that up front. It seems that hotel rooms in Carlsbad are in high demand due to the energy boom in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed Hampton Inns On the Run Hot breakfast and our staff were able to make your stay with us a memorable one. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were taking a trip into Carlsbad to see the caverns. I like to find a good deal for hotels, so the cost of the Hampton was a bit more than I like to pay. However, after reading other reviews I decided that we would go ahead and book with the Hampton. The service and kindness of the front desk and the employee in the breakfast area was exceptional. They were helpful, kind and went out of their way to make our experience with them a great one. I would definitely stay here again. The beds and pillows at the Hampton's are always the best, and the breakfast that is included with the room was delicious!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand you had a concern with the price at our location. Due to current market conditions in Carlsbad, hotel prices are much higher than most other Hampton Hotels. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you're planning on going to the Carlsbad caverns or Guadalupe mountains, this is a perfect place where to stay. It's is new, clean, and the rooms are confortable. Breakfast (which is very good) and room wifi are included. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We don't usually stay at a more expensive hotel, but reading reviews of other hotels in Carlsbad we decided to stay here. It was very nice (still too expensive for Carlsbad NM - $197.00+ tax). Staff were very pleasant and the breakfast (included was good). They had homemade oatmeal (not instant) which I liked. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our staff and breakfast. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 120 Esperanza Circle, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.