We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Esperanza Circle, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
lake oswego
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The staff was friendly, the hotel was nice and clean and bran new. If your going to stay in carlsbad i would strongly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Be nice and ask when you arrive. It never hurts to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and your business. If you have any questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    60
    21
    11
    2
See reviews for
92
58
4
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This new facility was perfect for missing all the construction traffic on Canal St. when visiting the caverns. Breakfast was different both mornings (waffles, eggs, fruit, etc.). Rooms were clean and the staff very helpful. Internet connection was pretty slow. Walmart next door & Chili's in the parking lot made it very convenient too!

Glad we chose this hotel because some of the others in the area didn't look as clean or inviting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your business and are pleased to hear our accommodations were to your liking. We are currently working with our internet partner to resolve any issue with internet speed. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Please feel free to contact me, if you have any questions, comments or concerns about your stay at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

You won't be disappointed by this new "instance" of Hampton Inn & Suites. The location at the south is perfect during this summer roadworks to avoid long lines on Canal Street heading to the Caverns and back; still, it's close enough to the best restaurants. The rooms are new, nice, and perfectly clean. Internet is free, although possibly a bit too slow. The free breakfast is ok, with waffles, pastries, eggs, bacon, potato, cereals, juices, fresh fruit and coffee.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We have also alerted our I.T department, to monitor our internet speeds to ensure they are at required levels. Please contact me at 575-725-5700 if you have any additional questions, comments or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed here for three nights on a business trip. The hotel was modern with clean lines. The front desk was attentive. I'd had a package sent ahead and it was waiting for me when I got there. The free breakfast had a wide range of options and a bright lovely seating area. The location is no better or worse than any other in Carlsbad-it is right on the main shopping drag but it is set back from the road. It is next to a Walmart if you need anything and there's ample fast food. I would suggest for a treat going to KaleidoScoops for ice cream.Very delicious and fun in a retro way.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the main drag, good black out curtains but if you are sensitive -ask at checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our accomodations and we thank you for your business. Please contact me if you have any additional questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stopped here overnight during our road trip to the southwest U.S. Check in was quick and easy. The front desk clerk was very nice and helpful with dining options. He let us know that the Chili's next door was packed, but that we could order take out and eat in our room. Very helpful information for a family that was very tired from driving all day. I didn't like the smell of the room, to me it smelled like a public restroom, but maybe it's because they use reclaimed water for the toilets. Since they are working at being "green", I got over it. The bathtub was stained with dark patches, which was off-putting also, plus there was no vent in the bathroom. We could hear the people upstairs walking around loud and clear, sounded almost like they were stomping. Things we liked: good sized fridge, microwave in room, carpets clean and not worn, great water pressure and the Waterpik showerhead actually worked. Believe me, we've been to many hotels over the past two weeks and this was one of the only showerheads that was still adjustable and not stuck. Overall, this hotel was okay. Too many negatives to be worth the price we paid ($160), but it was good enough for one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all the feedback as this will help us continually improve our accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. While the lack of service and cleanliness you experienced is unusual and not the standard for our hotel, there is no excuse for this and I sincerely apologize. We are committed to you, our valued customer, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us. Please contact me at 575-725-5700 if you have any additional questions, comments or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for a few days to visit Carlsbad Caverns and found it very comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the breakfast very filling. The hotel is one of the newer ones in town so it was still very nice. The beds were amazing. We called ahead of time for early checkin. We got there @ 6:30 AM and the the staff was very quick to assist us. Because we had a 3 suites reservation the overnight staff wanted us to wait till the day manager reported to duty to get the rooms close together and offered us breakfast right away which we really appreciated it. 30 min later we were allowed to check in and our rooms were next door and down the hall which was perfect.
The breakfast was very filling. Pastries, cereal, bagels, toast, waffle maker, eggs, omelets, sausage, bacon, fruit, juice, milk and coffee was offered daily. The hot items varied which was a nice change if you stayed more than 2 days. They also offered breakfast to go which was convenient for early morning day trips.
The only drawback was the pool. It was nice enough but because it was indoor the smell of chlorine was overwhelming. It would have been better outdoor or the windows allowed to open.
The location was convenient to Carlsbad Caverns. There is a Walmart and Chili's within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We are glad to be able to accommodate any guests for early arrivals as long as the hotel has availability for your room type. We are pleased to hear you liked all the various amenities at our hotel and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Carlsbad. Please contact me if you have any additional questions, comments or concerns at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Nicely decorated and perfectly clean rooms. The beds were really comfortable.
Breakfast was really good and the service of the breakfast room ladies was just outstanding.
The people at the front desk were always smiling and very helpful.
This hotel was more expensive than the regular prices were in the town (at least when we were there), but I do not regret that we stayed here, as this was a nice and pleasant stay.
The have an indoor pool, our kids enjoyed that.
There are not a wide selection of restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear your stay with us was a memorable one and we appreciate your business. We realize you have many hotel choices and we thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites for your stay. Please contact me if you have any additional questions, comments or concerns at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 120 Esperanza Circle, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.