We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trinity Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlsbad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Trinity Hotel
Save Saved
You added The Trinity Hotel to your Saves list
201 S. Canal, Carlsbad, NM 88220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Carlsbad B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Trinity on our trip to the caverns. The room was updated and very clean. This place focuses on the details: chocolates on the table, a hand-written note to the guests in a notebook on the nightstand, bathrobes, beautiful photography on the wall, wine fridge in the room, and a very comfortable feel placing a focus on the design elements of the historic building. The staff was friendly, the restaurant was wonderful. They hold free wine tastings in the evening (very good local wines) and pastries and coffee in the morning is included in the price of the room. It's located right on the downtown square where there were a few great antique shops and a co-op featuring local artists' work. Cost was a bit high but for the overall experience, it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    45
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
132
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wanted a weekend getaway and this was perfect!.
A very reasonably priced boutique style hotel right on the main street. A wonderfully large room and spacious bath all scruptiously clean. Staff is friendly and fun. Very helpful. Food was excellent with a free evening wine tasting of some very excellent New Mexican wine.
A private place right in the middle of Carlsbad. I'll be back.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have outside entry from the sidewalks. Second floor gives better street views. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity H, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
So glad to hear your enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your and comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Drove through Carlsbad around 9pm on a Friday, so didn't really get a good feel for the city besides the lit up chain restaurants and shops. Had been speeding from Albuquerque to make it by 10pm before front desk was closed.

What a pleasant oasis was the Trinity Hotel, then, a rehabbed bank from the 1890's, restored to current glory. Loved our unique rooms, and the restaurant served the best food or our trip to that point over Sante Fe and Taos. I took a club sandwich to go after a wonderful breakfast and happily gobbled it up after visiting the Caverns. My night was silent in 203, but my friend heard a late night bar fight in the parking lot out of 204.

Thanks to the staff for accommodating our cancellation/uncancellation saving us a frightening stay in one of the ghost towns we passed on 285!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Don't be fooled by the older brick building. The hotel is outstanding and the restaurant is even better. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. Spacious and nice bathroom with nice walk in shower. All personel were courteous and accomidating. The only drawback for some would be lack of an elevator; however we were warned when we made our reservations and didn't mind the walk up the stairs. We did pack light for this part of our trip. The hotel met all expectations. Will recommend to friends and would go out of our way to stay there again.
from Oklahoma City

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a beautiful boutique hotel with an amazing restaurant. We were not expecting to find a beauty like this tucked away in Carlsbad. We are so thankful we did. The room was beautiful with a large king size bed and a pull out sofa. The bathroom was beautiful with a spacious shower and over-sized tub. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel our checkin was very efficient and quick. We were assisted with our luggage to our room on the 2nd floor. The room was spacious, well appointed and spotless. The bedding,linens and toiletries are top quality.
Every afternoon The Trinity Hotel has a wine tasting of wines produced in New Mexico which was a real treat.

The meals in the dining room were wonderful and because of this we had all our meals in the Trinity dining room.
We felt welcomed and pampered by the staff during our visit. They were very friendly and helpful. We will recommend The Trinity Hotel to anyone traveling to this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I can't say enough nice stuff about the Trinity Hotel. The place was just about perfect in every way. The rooms were lovely, the beds are comfy, the towels are fluffy, the owners and staff are friendly and the food is good. We were hiking in the Guadalupe Mountains and it made it the perfect day after a windy chilly hike up Guadalupe Peak to be able to come "home" to this welcoming place and be pampered!!!! I will climb the Peak again just to get to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trinity Hotel

Address: 201 S. Canal, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in Carlsbad New Mexico in the newly renovated and redesigned Trinity Hotel Suites. Built 1892 as the First National Bank, this historic property once served as home to the first newspaper and headquarters of the Carlsbad Irrigation District. Today the old bank building is home to luxurious over-sized suites appointed with the finest amenities to meet your every need. It also now boasts a fine dining restaurant, wine gift shop, and coffee. Come, stay and lose yourself in the history and the beauty that is the Trinity. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trinity Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.