We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stock Exchange Steakhouse - CLOSED

Stock Exchange Steakhouse
222 West Fox Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220
575-725-5444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Highland Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Make sure you have dinner at the Stock Exchange. Great food and service. The chef does an excellent job. We totally enjoyed the evening.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    46
    23
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Don't go close to closing time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in carlsbad & after going to the bat flight at the cave, we left a bit early and drove into town to get dinner. We arrived at 8:20 and were seated right away with a comment by the host as we sat down telling us if we had arrived 10 minutes later we would have been out of luck. We enjoyed the bottle of wine and salads. We both ordered filets, one rare and one med well. While the server did ask my husband if a cool center was ok for rare, i had high hopes for our meal. The home made rolls were great. Even though the place was full, i could tell the kitchen staff was ready to leave. Our entrees arrived quickly and the rare filet was cooked as ordered, but the mushrooms & grilled green chilis were "cool". My filet was so welldone it was nasty
The mushrooms and sweet potato fries were also "cool". We were never offered coffee or dessert even though the table next to us was. We were simply offered the check. I guess the server was ready to leave too!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Good for a Small Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I would have never found this place without being told about it beforehand. If you are not a steak eater do not go. Atmosphere is great and staff were welcoming. Food was amazing and steak was great as is with no need for steak sauce. A must do if visiting Carlsbad.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The food was very mediocre and over priced. The waiter was good, but the two females were not responsive for seating and the check out was ridiculous. There was only one "credit card machine" which turned out to be an Ipad that had to have all the information hand entered. It took forever.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you're looking for an exceptional dining experience in Carlsbad, this is the place. The house garlic dressing on the salad was out of this world. I ordered a stuffed pork chop for my main entree, fantastic and it came with two sides. Don't miss the potato and sausage side, yummy, but I should have taken the waiters advise on the house made potato chips he said they were "just average" and he was correct. My only big criticism is that when I looked up the menu on their website the prices were less than what they were in reality. That being said, it was worth every penny.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stock Exchange Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stock Exchange Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.