We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great exploration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sitting Bull Falls

Sitting Bull Falls
Sitting Bull Falls Road, Lincoln National Forest, Carlsbad, NM
575 434-7200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Carlsbad
Attraction details
Idalou, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great exploration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our 6 kids, 3yrs - 10 yrs had a great time exploring the waterfall and swimming in the springs. The park staff was friendly and it was a great day excursion while traveling from Carlsbad back to Hobbs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    4
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wow, a desert gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

only opened on the weekends. It is a bit of drive, but worth it. It is a small fall with true swimming holes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Long Way Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We drove here across Dark Canyon Rd and believe me when I tell you it is a long way. Bring a picnic lunch, plenty of water, sunscreen. The park is nice with covered picnic tables all built by the CCC. You can swim under the falls and there are steps down to the stream. There are restrooms in the park and the day we were there, three park rangers were on duty, keeping the rowdy kids in line.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Too dry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's was cool but there was just one waterfall we expected for the more water but we were planning to stay for vacation but after we saw the just one waterfall we decided to leave back home

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2011 nice day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Folks at the KOA said we should go explore out there. It was really neat. Son was 10 and we both enjoyed it. Go early in the day as there is little shade once the sun comes overhead. The rock blocks most of the heat until noon.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitting Bull Falls also viewed

 

Been to Sitting Bull Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitting Bull Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.