We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow, a desert gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sitting Bull Falls

Sitting Bull Falls
Sitting Bull Falls Road, Lincoln National Forest, Carlsbad, NM
575 434-7200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 attractions in Carlsbad
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wow, a desert gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

only opened on the weekends. It is a bit of drive, but worth it. It is a small fall with true swimming holes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    2
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Long Way Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We drove here across Dark Canyon Rd and believe me when I tell you it is a long way. Bring a picnic lunch, plenty of water, sunscreen. The park is nice with covered picnic tables all built by the CCC. You can swim under the falls and there are steps down to the stream. There are restrooms in the park and the day we were there, three park rangers were on duty, keeping the rowdy kids in line.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Too dry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's was cool but there was just one waterfall we expected for the more water but we were planning to stay for vacation but after we saw the just one waterfall we decided to leave back home

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2011 nice day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Folks at the KOA said we should go explore out there. It was really neat. Son was 10 and we both enjoyed it. Go early in the day as there is little shade once the sun comes overhead. The rock blocks most of the heat until noon.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I use to live in Carlsbad and this was one of my favorite places to go. If you go to the top and hike for a bit there are some really nice spots to swim on the river, even a rope to jump into the water with. The only drawback is that there are leaches at the bottom of the falls so be careful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitting Bull Falls also viewed

 

Been to Sitting Bull Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitting Bull Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.