We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic location, delightful owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville to your Saves list
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Lily Pad Lane, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings 15%!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Flat Rock
Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Idyllic location, delightful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

Highland Lake Inn offers unique accomodations and dining in a beautiful and natural, rural setting. The lodging choices are varied, ranging from simpler cabins, to a rustic log-built lodge, to a private cottage with jacuzzi, and more. We were pleased to have been given a tour to get a feel for all of them. Each is warm and welcoming, comfortably furnished, with little nooks and crannies and special touches of beauty and comfort absolutely EVERYwhere! The grounds are vast with lots of outdoor activities available or the option of complete peace and quiet if desired. We also viewed their extensive group facilities for corporate/wedding/large group events and were impressed with the scope of their services.

Seasons Restaurant here offers the finest quality dining, without the stuffy pretentiousness that usually accompanies it. A comfortable atmosphere, but with all the perks of the best restaurants and food to die for! And their yummy breakfast is included in the cost of the lodging.

Quaint nearby Hendersonville offers shopping, arts and crafts, and unique gifts. Don't miss the store that sells all the "penny" candy and dimestore toys you remember from your youth!

Highland Lake Inn is perfect for a family vacation or reunion, a couple's weekend-get-away, a quiet retreat for a single, or a nice holiday gathering. Needless to say, it comes highly recommended by this reviewer!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    30
    9
    11
    8
See reviews for
50
54
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

If you enjoy the constant drone of construction, roads unexpectedly closed, trash littering walking paths, construction workers playing loud music, then the Highland Lake Inn is the place for you. This used to be a unique destination, unfortunately there is very little about the Highland Lake Inn that is "special".

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2006

We stayed here one night during our spring break. Apparently they are in a transition, but I think they should have mentioned the construction in the website. There were bulldozers grinding away when we arrived. The advertised waterfall was dry and the lake was half empty. There was a lot of trash on-site. The cabin room, as it was called, was fairly clean but really needed a paintjob.
Overall, the only really good thing was the breakfast buffet that came with the room. After reading the good comments here I was disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Services Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, April 19, 2006
Highland Lake Inn - A Country Retreat is not in transition and no major construction activity is occurring. Highland Lake Inn has access to Highland Lake; however, we do not have direct control of the level of the lake. Our neighbor is completing construction projects around Highland Lake. This construction required the lake to be lowered for a short period of time. The lake has been refilled and the waterfall is flowing. Even though we are relatively isolated on our 26 acre location we make every effort to control the times of construction outside of our borders for the comfort of our guests. Road repaving and general maintenance, as well as the painting of the cabins and other units are scheduled throughout the year, during times of slow business, to try to alleviate the issues this guest encountered. We have responded to her personally and hope that they will return to us again in the future.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

Staying at the Highland Lake Inn was beyond relaxing -once we drove up the wooded driveway - I knew I was in for a treat. The grounds are beautiful and seem so far removed from the hustle and bustle of the "real world". Staying at the Azalea cottage was the perfect combination of modern day comforts and quaint seclusion. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Above all, the Sunday Brunch was the best meal I have ever experienced. I recommend this beautiful retreat for the fall - but I hope to visit again in the warm months to take advantage of the pool and other outdoor adventures.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

I stayed at the Highland Lake Inn in Flat Rock, NC and had a wonderful time! My friend and I stayed the night in the Azalea Cottage (which I highly recommend) and had Brunch the following day at the Seasons Restaurant. The food and service were excellent! The Cottages were lovely and quiet. The overall customer service on every level was outstanding. Very pleased!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Highland Lake Inn in North Carolina. With its beautiful grounds, my family enjoyed walking to the barn, the lake, and throughout the premises. My children especially enjoyed helping to milk the goats and visiting the other barnyard animals. Staff was very accommodating to our children and us. Food as usual was wonderful at the restaurant. Minor problems were fixed -- our cabin had gotten a new lock and we did not have the correct key. Some of the front desk staff may have been new and were learning -- but were helpful when we asked questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

We have stayed at the Highland Lake Inn at different times of the year. We have stayed at the Inn and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The room was spacious and had a fire place and it was really cozy. Very clean and had a nice view of the trees and flowers.
We have also stayed in the cabin and the cottages which was very nice also. The cottages have 3 bedrooms, kitchen with dinning table and living room with fireplace. To me the great thing about the Highland Lake Inn is that you can stroll around the property and enjoy the fresh air and the Lake. They have a swimming pool, gym, you can even get a massage! They have a great Restaurant and Bar and the food is wonderful. It is also in a great area, 20 minutes from Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway , the Biltmore House and the Biltmore Village. There are just so many things to do and see in that area. When your finished with all your sight seeing then you can come back to the quiet countryside go to the bar and have a nice glass of wine or have a bottle sent to your room or cottage, and sit by the fireplace. It just a great getaway, and also if you have your own business you
can bring your employees there for a retreat.
I like the Restaurant because it is on the premises ,you can eat breakfast, lunch or dinner and it is not a chain restaurant. The food is great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville

Address: 86 Lily Pad Lane, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1900s-when a group of visionary gentleman from the South Carolina low-country founded Highland Lake Club-the land that now comprises Highland Lake Inn & Resort has been attracting visitors looking for rest, relaxation and recreation. Set amid 26 scenic wooded lakeside acres in Western North Carolina, perhaps no other destination in Western North Carolina combines an authentic mountain experience with such an array of amenities and services. Each season offers guests something special, something unique, which beckons exploration. Our guests enjoy full access to our on-site amenities that will satisfy or exceed the expectations your family, group, or significant other. We pride ourselves on a unique brand of service-that's both anticipatory and responsive-to make sure you and your company enjoy everything we have to offer. Our amenities include dining at our award-winning Season's Restaurant; exploring our 26 wooded-acres either on foot or riding our complimentary bikes; discovering the 40-acre lake by fishing from the dock (catch-and-release) or boating using our complimentary canoes, kayaks and paddleboats; staying outdoors enjoying our swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day), volleyball, tennis, horseshoes and badminton; heading inside to our family game room for pool, ping pong and foosball; or, relaxing with an in-room massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Flat Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.