We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville to your Saves list
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Lily Pad Lane, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings 15%!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Flat Rock
Swansea SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have been to HLI several times and have always enjoyed it. Because of that I invited several friends to go with me this time. I usually stay in the lodge, but thought the cabins or cottages would be better for a small group. I was advised by the desk that a cabin would probably suit our needs. BUT..... I don't think that was good advice for 4 women since there was only 1 bathroom. I think the cottage would have been better. We needed more trashcans and towel racks. It would probably be okay for a family, just too small for friends.

Room Tip: Fine for a couple and 2 children, more makes it cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for bringing your friends and staying with us again! Next time you visit, please be sure and ask about our cottages, which are perfect for families or a small group of friends. The Azalea cottage is 1408 sq. feet with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a kitchen and also includes a washer and dryer. We would love to offer you a discount on your next stay, so please gives us a call and we look forward to your return visit!

Karen S
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    30
    9
    11
    8
See reviews for
50
54
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

So much for southern hospitality . . . Had to arrive to the hotel early (really early) because my husband had to work in the area. I waiting in the car from 8 am until 2 pm before I could check in. I understood that I would have to do that. However, at 2:00 I went to check in and they would not let me in the room that was reserved for us (and empty!) until 4 pm. I asked for an exception since there was NO ONE on the grounds at all and they said that for an additional (and extremely pricey!) charge, they would let me in two hours earlier. Really?! $169 per night for a very rustic cabin room - definitely not worth the price. Guess we'll stay at a chain next time we are in the area (which is frequently!). So disappointed!

Room Tip: Very pretty grounds, overpriced rooms, extremely poor service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Yes, we are in the South! We take great pride in our southern hospitality, which we evidently did not live up to during your visit. I was very surprised to hear about your check-in experience and apologize that the room was not available when you arrived, and that we did not respond well to your situation. It is NOT our policy to charge any early check-in fee for guests who are already on our property. We do everything we can to make our guests feel at home and delighted, while getting you into your room just as soon as possible.

We should have let you know that you could wait in the lobby at our Lodge, the game room of the Lodge or the Woodward House. Both lobbies have large fireplaces, comfortable couches and kitchens. The game room in the Lodge has pool, foosball and a pool table to entertain you. Or, you should have been directed to our restaurant, Season’s, where you could enjoy coffee or lunch while you waited. We also offer full use of our 26 acre property, including complimentary use of our bicycles, lake, canoes, and paddleboats. Please be assured that we have taken steps to address this issue and hope you will give us a chance to delight you as our guest next time.

Regarding our rates, you stayed in one of our cabin rooms, with a fireplace during peak season, which also included our full country-style breakfast each day. We feel that our rates are very competitive in our area given the property amenities, including the full breakfast buffet.

Please contact me, as I would like to offer you a room and another chance to prove we are really in the south and capable of delighting you in every experience you have here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our group chose to stay at Highland Lake Inn this year instead of going to the beach. We LOVED it! I first read about the Inn in The State Magazine this past Spring. We have made plans to go back next year in October. The proximity of Hendersonville was a plus.
We loved browsing around the grounds, seeing the white peacock, goats and sheep. It is a perfect place to relax and catch up with one another.
Seasons, the restaurant, on the property is excellent! The entire staff was so accommodating.

Room Tip: Get your reservations made far in advance.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have the right idea on saving the planet. They are energy efficient and use water saving techniques with shower heads.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy H, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
How wonderful that your group enjoyed their experience here at Highland Lake Inn so much that you plan to visit us again next October! While we are only ten minutes from shopping, historical sites and hiking, being on the Highland Lake property is a true refuge...fine dining within walking distance from your room, walking trails complete with our resident peacock and a staff that will endeavor to make every experience of your stay a special one! We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A family wedding brought us to this delightful Inn on the lake complete with canoes, camp fire and s'mores and an excellent restaurant to boot. A charming location nestled near a beautiful lake. The pool just closed but a wonderful location in a little meadow surrounded by trees. Walking paths and swings. A very rustic setting in beautiful North Carolina.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We really appreciate your taking time out of your busy schedule to send such a nice review on the Highland Lake Inn and Resort and Season's Restaurant. It is very endearing to us when we get to read these lovely comments, and makes us so happy that we were able to make your stay here enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

1. We love going here because the breakfast is sooo good. Chef prepared breakfast casserole, pancakes, fruit, pastries, grits, potatoes, eggs, bacon, juice, cereals, yogurt, etc.. And it is included with lodging. :)

2. The landscape is so natural and beautiful with tall pines winding your way through to the main lodging areas. The lake is lovely and the waterfall is so pretty at the main entrance. If you love pretty, nostalgic places where you can sit back and relax, and enjoy fabulous food, then you will love this place as much as I do.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy H, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
You just described two of the many distinctive features of Highland Lake Inn...the beautiful grounds and the amazing breakfast! We have people who come year after year for the best breakfast around... and stay to take a leisurely walk afterwards on our spacious property. We will look forward to seeing you again soon...breakfast is calling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Every year I drop off and pickup our daughter's from a nearby camp, and stay at the Highland Lake Inn after a 700 plus mile drive. I always look forward to dinner, breakfast and lunch at the exceptional Season's restaurant. The service is friendly and the food is spectacular. Much of the ingredients are locally grown and the freshness and quality of the food is first class. I can't stress enough how good the food is at Season's. Even the mix at the bar is great and the bar tenders couldn't be sweeter. The rooms and cabins are rustic, but clean and the inn's grounds are so beautiful I doubt you will spend much time in your room. I will miss staying at the Highland Inn after my last daughter goes to college in 2018, but plan on many more good meals at Season's and peaceful nights sleeping until than..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy H, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We value our annual camp visitors greatly and look forward to your return visits...so we are sorry to hear that your camp days are coming to a close. After a 700 mile drive, it is no wonder that you look forward to a refuge...and we are so pleased that our food, service and ambiance have kept you coming back year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Highland Lake Inn three times over a period spanning 20 years (!), all for large family reunions. This small resort does a terrific job. Reasonably priced for the money, there is a pool, tennis courts, a small lake with boats to rent, and a restaurant serving good quality meals (and I am picky). There are a variety of different types of accommodations, ranging from hotel rooms to houses for rent. Resorts are difficult, there are so many little things that can go wrong. At the Highland Lake Inn, nothing does.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
What a glorious review! We cannot thank you enough for the fabulous comments. We really do strive to make our guests delighted! Come back soon -- maybe your next experience will even be greater!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville

Address: 86 Lily Pad Lane, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1900s-when a group of visionary gentleman from the South Carolina low-country founded Highland Lake Club-the land that now comprises Highland Lake Inn & Resort has been attracting visitors looking for rest, relaxation and recreation. Set amid 26 scenic wooded lakeside acres in Western North Carolina, perhaps no other destination in Western North Carolina combines an authentic mountain experience with such an array of amenities and services. Each season offers guests something special, something unique, which beckons exploration. Our guests enjoy full access to our on-site amenities that will satisfy or exceed the expectations your family, group, or significant other. We pride ourselves on a unique brand of service-that's both anticipatory and responsive-to make sure you and your company enjoy everything we have to offer. Our amenities include dining at our award-winning Season's Restaurant; exploring our 26 wooded-acres either on foot or riding our complimentary bikes; discovering the 40-acre lake by fishing from the dock (catch-and-release) or boating using our complimentary canoes, kayaks and paddleboats; staying outdoors enjoying our swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day), volleyball, tennis, horseshoes and badminton; heading inside to our family game room for pool, ping pong and foosball; or, relaxing with an in-room massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Flat Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.