We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food served with charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal's BBQ and Grill

Crystal's BBQ and Grill
576 Upward Rd. #3, Flat Rock, NC 28731
(828) 693-0645
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Flat Rock
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Decatur GA
1 review
“Excellent food served with charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We wanted a simple meal. We ended up with a simply WONDERFUL meal! Crystal's BBQ is delicious. She makes all of her own sides. The portions are huge. And, to add the delight, Crystal, her mother, her husband...the family made us feel welcome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“best barbeque in Hendersonville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

I love this place. crystal is a very nice person and always tries to make you feel welcome and the food is always good. Johnny makes great sauce.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best BBQ in the region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I've tried all the BBQ in a 50 mile radius and for pulled pork or beef brisket Crystal's wins hands down. The quality of the food is fantastic, the portions are generous, and the prices are reasonable. They have a great selection of side items. I recommend the mac & cheese, baked beans, and the homemade potato chips (made to order!). They have ribs for Friday dinner but I have never tried them. If you're lucky enough to be there when they have the fried bolonga sandwich special make sure to try it. You won't be disappointed. Oh, and the sauces are all great, and what a selection: sweet, spicy, vinegar, mustard, and a wonderful unnamed sauce that I think is a combination of the sweet and the vinegar. Yum!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zirconia, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food and sauces are excellent, affordable, and the people are great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We have gotten food here maybe 8 or 9 times now sense we found it. Never been unhappy. good size portions, the food is always fresh, sauces are very good and a meal for your family doesn't destroy your wallet either. 2 thumbs up.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My family and I love this restaurant! It is a low-key atmosphere, but not low-key food or service. The owners come out frequently to check on their customers. The food was home-cooked and it was awesome! (mac and cheese is to die for!)

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal's BBQ and Grill also viewed

Flat Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Flat Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Flat Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Flat Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Crystal's BBQ and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal's BBQ and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.