We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nutcracker-An Outstanding Performance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flat Rock Playhouse

Flat Rock Playhouse
2661 Greenville Hwy, Flat Rock, NC 28731
828-693-0731
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Flat Rock
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular theater in the town.
Ashville area
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Nutcracker-An Outstanding Performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Merry Christmas to all and what a gift this performance is to the region. Simply outstanding~New York comes to the Flat Rock Stage! The story line and the dancing was so fresh and enjoyable, you fall in love with the characters and are wowed by their dancing. I so appreciate Chase Brock and his talented cast coming to Flat Rock. This is a must see!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    20
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go See The Nutcracker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Flat Rock Playhouse is a gem in the mountains. The production of the "Nutcracker" is an innovative, entertaining, spectacle that should not be missed. Great fun and worth every penny.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Professional actors, great sets, good work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've attended Flat Rock productions many, many times over the years and nearly always enjoy them. The last one we attended was Guys and Dolls, which was not a favorite and apparently didn't draw as large an audience as some, but it was still well done.

Flat Rock actors are professional (many are Equity), sets are amazing and most productions -- especially the musicals and comedies -- are well attended.

The audience is often very heavy on gray (and blue) hair, and although we are not spring chickens ourselves sometimes I think the aging Flat Rock and Hendersonville audience can be an issue in terms of production choices.

Why the Theatre opened a second location in downtown Hendersonville rather than in younger, hipper, larger Asheville I don't understand. Also, I wonder why with such an aging audience the theatre starts its evening productions late, usually 8 p.m., and they often run close to three hours.

Currently Flat Rock is in financial trouble and is trying to raise money to keep going. I wish them well and plan to make a contribution.

Flat Rock Playhouse is the official State Theatre of North Carolina, though the state provides only 2% of funding. The theatre draws nearly 100,000 patrons annually to its original Main Stage, a barn-like (but now air-conditioned and comfortable) theatre in Flat Rock, dating to 1952, and to its 250-seat Playhouse Downtown location in Hendersonville.

Flat Rock puts on around 10 productions a year in Flat Rock and another eight or nine in Hendersonville.

Earlier in 2012, Flat Rock did debut an original play on Zelda Fitzgerald, the wife of F. Scott Fitzgerald. Zelda died in a fire at a psychiatric hospital in Asheville in 1948.

The theatre also operates a college apprentice and intern residence program in the summer and fall. Tickets for Main Stage productions are around $35-$40, with a variety of discounts available.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tribute to Elvis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went for the first time to the Flatrock Playhouse downtown Hendersonville,NC to see the tribute to Elvis Show. The program was fantastic and the talent superb. The theater is an intimate theater very well done. Put a great show and a great venue and one can have a wonderful experience, which we did. I would recommend this show and venue to anyone. The tickets were reasonable for the quality of the show.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The only professional musical house in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They do some great things here. Also, they do some not so great things here. Hit or miss, but our only professional theater that does the big musicals.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flat Rock Playhouse also viewed

Flat Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Flat Rock Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flat Rock Playhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.