We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mill House Lodge to your Saves list
Mill House Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1150 West Blue Ridge Rd., Flat Rock, NC 28731   |  
Hotel amenities
Aynor, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice holiday weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here about 18 years ago and just had not made it back. Thought we would try again. Though dated, the room in Lakeview was very clean and neat. We had our own porch complete with rocking chairs and a lovely view of the lake. Though truly minutes from every convenience, the location is peaceful and tranquil. We enjoyed the canoes and the paddle boats. We also like the idea of not being closed up in a hotel. Here, you can relax in your room, read on the porch or take a walk around the lake. The village of Flat Rock is 1/2 mile down the road and has a fantastic bakery. We also enjoyed the Garden Show this weekend in downtown Hendersonville ( a 10 minute drive)- we parked and walked along main street and enjoyed the many shops and restaurants there. Asheville is 18 miles from this location if you choose to go, however, we found there was plenty to do and see in the Hendersonville area. Had a minor injury and needed medical care. The Pardee Hospital is minutes from the lodge; we received excellent care there. Overall, a relaxing weekend. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Lakeview is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. It's wonderful that you returned. Though 12 years, between visits, lets hope you will visit sooner.

We're constantly looking to improve our guests experience and love that the experience keeps you wanting to come back for more.

Humbly,
The Mill House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
17
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I've stayed at this property several times & found it to be everything I required! Love the off the grid feeling & being close to major hiking venues! Location was great with regardd to meeting friends in Asheville later after hiking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay! We love to hear from our regulars, and why they love it.

Thanks again.
The Mill House Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

During a recent trip to Hendersonville my wife and I were looking from something different than the usual commercial property and my wife always wanted to stay in a "cabin" by a lake. We were not disappointed in this property. It has been around a while, but is very well maintained and definitely has a country feel - rustic but not too rustic. The staff was helpful and our view of the damn and original mill house was excellent. The units are as advertised and the pictures are accurate. Be advised though that while well kept and fully serviceable they are neither new nor what you would find in a chain. There is no food available at the hotel, but there is an excellent bakery, deli, etc 200 yards up the road which has apricot pastries to die for. Out unit had full cooking facilities, the bed was comfortable and the maid very accommodating. While there is no swimming in the lake, presumably due to the dam, there is fishing and various kinds of boating. There is a pool as well as laundry facilities and the rates are quite reasonable. This would be a great place for a group such as a family reunion. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The Timberlodge and Lakeview rooms are across the lake from the main units and more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. As a historic property and lodge we work hard so that our guests can relax and enjoy, not only the Lodge, but the area as a whole.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We just spent one evening here after a wonderful visit to Hendersonville, NC. A tranquil view of the little lake from our room. We arrived just at sunset. The lodge is just down the road from the historic Village of Flat Rock, the Carl Sandburg home and a short distance from the Biltmore Estate and many other sites. We had a lovely time and such a change from our usual hotel stays.

There is not room service nor a fitness center, so please ignore ratings as the system would not allow me to change them!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We thank you very much for your recent stay with us. The lake setting in the evening is very peaceful and relaxing. Many folks really enjoy that time as they unwind from the days activity before going to dinner at a nearby restaurant.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were pleased with our room and accommodations. The lake view room was clean in every respect, including the kitchen and bathroom, and the bed was comfortable. This is a great location with lots to do and see in the area. I found the rate to be reasonable, and we plan on returning later this year with our dogs.

I used a third party to book the room, which caused a minor concern, but there was no fault to the Lodge, and I recommend booking directly with the property if you are considering a stay here. They were very helpful when I called to confirm my reservation and ask questions about the property.

Barry

Room Tip: call the Lodge if there are any concerns in advance of booking, they were helpful. We stayed in a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent trip to the Mill House Lodge and Flat Rock. We were pleased to host your recent stay to the area. We are glad to assist our guest with any questions that they may have concerning their stay with us. We look forward to having you visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Visited the area for the first time and wasn't sure where to stay ... Ran across Mill House which was what we were looking for and was pet friendly as we travel with our pets. When I made reservation no mention the pets couldn't stay in room when we would leave.. We checked in no mention of this until I was getting in the car to go to our room and was informed at that time we couldn't leave our dogs they would have to go with us. Ok so I just paid a pet deposit so my pets can stay and mind you they don't run free we keep them in a kennel and pet deposit non refundable. So why pay pet fee...When making reservation they need to explain this before getting to the lodge..thank goodness it was cool so we didn't have to deal with heat issues or we would have had to find alternate place to stay . I will say place had nice rooms and clean but will not stay again due to pet policy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We do thank you for your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found the room clean and comfortable. I do apologize that the pet policy was not explained to you at the time of your reservation and will get that clarified with the front desk. We have had some bad experiences where guests have left their dog(s) in their room and then took off for the day. Since it was unfamiliar to their pet, they barked continually until the guest returned. The barking was a distraction to other guests, to the point that some have left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very comfortable and clean rooms. Great location and the prices are terrific! Mill House Lodge has become our "go to" hotel in the greater Hendersonville area. We love the comfortable outside seating with an a view of the small lake.


Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. It is nice to know that we can provide you with a place to visit for a quick get-away or mini-vacation. Observing the lake and it's surroundings is very relaxing. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Lodge

Address: 1150 West Blue Ridge Rd., Flat Rock, NC 28731
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our tranquil lake setting is a haven for those seeking lodging in a casual, family resort atmosphere with the unhurried pace of a mountain retreat. A perfect place for honeymoons, anniversaries, family reunions, small group meetings or a quiet restorative getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mill House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.