We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stop, but could have been better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   111 Commercial Boulevard, I-26 at Upward Road, Flat Rock, NC 28731   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ok stop, but could have been better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped on our way up to Michigan on our yearly family trip. My husband and our 3 kiddos! We stayed two night, we were pre-booked prior to our trip so we could explore the waterfalls! Hotel was in a great location. Upon arrival we were very excited, but when we walked into our room it was like walking into a bar filled with smoke, we immediately returned to the desk! Our second room was also smoked in, but not nearly as bad! For being a smoke free hotel, it wasn't! Breakfast was ok, nothing fantastic, coffee was good. Our room was cleaned on our second day and the maid took our daughters $2 she had on the dresser, very concerning seeing as our belongings are way more valuable than that! We got $2 from the front desk, but more the principle of the matter!! We didn't get comp or apology! The pool was pretty chilly. Location was really the best part of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear BobbieSue K,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with our location. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations with the room accommodation and the service you received. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We value your comments and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    55
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
33
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My flight was delayed and I didn't get to CLT until 10pm and into Flat Rock after midnight. David the night employee at the desk was efficient, friendly, and quick to offer snacks. Definitely made me happy to choose HIE again. Room was clean and AC worked very well. Quiet night was what I needed. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Tried this hotel while on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised as I had a negative preconceived notion of what a Holiday Inn was going to be like. Greeted by professional staff. Stayed in a queen double room on first floor. Rooms were very clean , well stocked and modern.More modern than in more "upscale" chains that I have stayed in. I liked how the pillows were labeled soft and firm. The only minor change that should be considered is to upgrade the mattress, it wasn't totally uncomfortable, but could have been better. Bathroom was clean and fully stocked. Liked the Bath and Body Works products. Breakfast had the usual variety and was ok. Area was well kept and stocked. There was a computer and printer in the just outside the lobby area. Did not try the pool. Grounds were well kept. There is a Cracker Barrel across the parking lot as well as a Mcdonalds. Close to gas stations and easy on/off the highway. Had a good experience at this hotel and will now try Holiday inn Express on more trips. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conway, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it did not accept pets. Very difficult to find these days. My husband is allergic to cats. The room and motel were both extremely clean. We were traveling
back to Myrtle Beach area. The breakfast provided was very good. Staff so friendly and helpful.
We ate at a Cracker Barrel, located just across from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel. as clean is our priority.

Room Tip: Cannot recommend anything. We were on the 2nd floor. The room was extremely clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I think I had stayed in an older Holiday Inn several years ago and was left with a not-so-good impression. When I checked into this Holiday Inn to save a little money on this trip, I was pleasantly surprised. The bed was comfortable the pillows were great (it was nice to have a firm and soft options, they even label them on the edge of the pillowcase) and the room was very clean. The breakfast was a step up from the stale pastries and coffee you used to get. The "omlettes" are those prepackaged things I've seen at my son's school for hot lunch, so I recommend going out for breakfast. IHop & Waffle House are just up the highway a bit. Overall, the value is decent. They said were remodeling the pool so I did not see it or test it out. It would have been nice for them to mention it when I booked my room, but it wasn't a deal breaker for me since I was out and about the majority of time I was in NC.

Room Tip: There are only two floors. I stayed in the room above the lobby, a non-smoking King, accross from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Kayakgirl27,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
283 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I arrived early afternoon for a 10 hour stay, plenty of parking for a semi behind bldg. cracker barrel next door...lady at check in was very freindly and helpful,good price,clean room,comfy bed water pressure not best but nice hot water..ac-htr was quiet..this is an older place but it is well kept and clean..i read a few of the reviews on this place that werent the best but I found no issues at all ..the next time Im in the area I will stay again..

Room Tip: top floor nice and quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The single reason I chose this Holiday Inn for my stay was their indoor pool. I wanted a place my daughter could swim and get some exercise after being in the car all day. This was a big mistake.

There is absolutely no way this pool is heated. The water was absolutely freezing. Picture a bath tub filled with water and then just left there for days. You know how cold that water gets? That's exactly what this water was. Kids left the pool after about 10 minutes with shivering teeth and purple lips. Adults took one feel and didn't get in. Not to mention the fact that the water was so murky you couldn't see your own feet at the bottom of a 3' deep pool.

When I told the service desk about the water being cold, they couldn't have cared less. I was told there was nothing they could do about it on the weekend. Their pool service people wouldn't come out during the weekend. Yeah... why would a hotel want service for their busiest time of the week?

A bit dispointment as I could have stayed at other places nearby that were less money. This was my first ever stay at a Holiday Inn Express. I won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Chris_Marcy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the pool. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock

Address: 111 Commercial Boulevard, I-26 at Upward Road, Flat Rock, NC 28731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express, Hendersonville-Flat Rock, North Carolina. You ll find comfort and Southern hospitality at one of the most convenient locations in Hendersonville-Flat Rock. We are now a 100% non-smoking hotel!Relax in one of our over sized rooms with a variety of options from which to choose. The standard double offers two queen sized beds and are great for families. Our executive king rooms are very popular with the corporate traveler. Each 'executive' room has a microwave, refrigerator, sleeper sofa, and working desk. The Jacuzzi rooms would appeal to those seeking a romantic getaway with an in room Jacuzzi tub. You could cuddle on a cool evening in one of our fireplace rooms, and of course we have fully ADA compliant rooms for our guests with special needs. A complimentary deluxe Continental breakfast is served daily from 6:30 until 9:30 AM in our breakfast room. Whether you re coming to Hendersonville for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Express is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax and make most of your day. Amenities such as free high-speed Internet, luxurious bedding and an indoor heated pool means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock Hotel Flat Rock
Holiday Inn Flat Rock
Flat Rock Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Flat Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hendersonville Flat Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.