We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual vacation stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capulin RV Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capulin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capulin RV Park
Intersection of Highway 64/87 and 325, Capulin, NM 88414   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Annual vacation stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stop 4 times a year and spend the night. We find the owners and their kids to be some of the nicest Christian people. The RV sites are great and we have been stopping for yrs. Very Clean grounds and bath facilities. Great 1/2 point to where we go in Colorado. A+ from us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I typically like to travel from New Mexico to Colorado for hiking, camping, and other outdoor activities. Capulin is the perfect halfway point to stop and take in a nice day of hiking the volcano and then relax at a cabin in Capulin RV park. For only $46 a night the cabin which can sleep 4 comfortably offers a pretty nice value. No on site amenities to keep children occupied other than a hammock which kept my 8 year old son busy for a couple of hours. Clean restrooms and showers on site could have done without all the Jesus and gun propaganda that the owners place everywhere but all in all a great place to stop and recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice park with a very nice owner. We stayed in site 13, which has a hammock in back. It's only a few miles from here to the Volcano. We were on our way from Colorado to Fort Worth, a long drive and this was an ideal place to stay. Not only is it an nice park with a friendly owner, but Capulin Volcano National Monument is worth a trip for its own sake.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed at a cabin after visiting the volcano. It was clean, quiet, and affordable. Bathrooms and showers were clean and heated. Perfect place for a quick stop on the way to the mountains.

We drove back up to the volcano at sunset and the landscape is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Campsites did not look good, but cabin was great. If heading through, spend a few extra bucks on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We camped here on a recent trip to Arizona. It is on a fairly busy truck route but the truck traffic did drop off once it started getting dark. The RV spaces are nicely graveled and flat so no problem leveling up. We enjoyed the Capulin Volcano National Monument while visiting here. We were the only ones camped in here and it made for a great off the beaten path trip through New Mexico. They also have wi-fi available and do sell beef native to New Mexico, which was amazingly tender and delicious!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Took a motorcycle ride with a friend to the Capulin Volcano. Decided to stay here as it was the only place around. Because me and my riding partner each had our own tent, the owner made us pay for two tent sites. I have never been to any RV park or campground that charged in this manor. So $36 dollars later we set up our two very small backpacking tents roughly 100 feet from the highway. In a weedy site between 2 signs/billboards that after dark are very bright and annoying. Everytime you wake up in the night from traffic noise, you think its morning due to the lights shining on your tent from every direction. This was not only one of the worst places I've camped at. Its also by far the most expensive. Do yourself a favor and drive back to Raton 30 miles away and go to the KOA.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We arrived late (11pm) due to a change in plans, but found the signage a little incomplete (prices stated didn't include tax, and they don't take checks). Also, we tent camped, but there was no indication of where to go to set up, so we guessed (which was fine). Also, since we had a LATE change of plans, we didn't call ahead and get the bathroom code (they are locked 24-7), so that made for some discomfort. Also, adjacent to the property are 2 very large white billboards with very bright lights. This made tent sleeping a little difficult at best, since the lights were so bright and there are no fences or anything to shield tent campers from the light. Also, as mentioned, the highway is literally 200 feet away, and amazingly busy for the middle of nowhere. Again, no fence or anything to somewhat block the noise, and we didn't bring (nor did we anticipate we would need) earplugs. It should be noted that there is absolutely nowhere close by that is public land (BLM or National Forest) upon which to camp; the Capulin National Monument does not have a camping area. This makes the RV park the only place close to the Monument. Nearest otherwise is Raton (a good 30 minute drive). Tent camping was $17, plus $1 tax. Plenty of signage around the facility to remind you of their religion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capulin RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capulin RV Park

Address: Intersection of Highway 64/87 and 325, Capulin, NM 88414
Location: United States > New Mexico > Capulin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Capulin
Also Known As:
Capulin RV Park New Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capulin RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Capulin RV Park to your Saves list
;