We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B Hotel Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn
Save
You added Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn to your Saves list
150 N. Center Street, Torrey, UT 84775   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Torrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartland, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B Hotel Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a beautifully remodeled old schoolhouse that maintained the character of the building structure but changed the inside to be a wonderfully decorated & comfortable hotel. The main room on the first floor was the schoolroom and is now a great room for lounging and dining. There are many book choices, old and new, related to the local territory and the history of the area. Ask the owner to tell about her opening party just after the restoration--she captured some great history that could have been lost forever. Overall, a great place to stay surrounded by beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    29
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
105
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There are few places that I can recommend without any reservation and Torrey Schoolhouse B&B is one of them.

The Inn is in a restored 1916 schoolhouse (duh!) and is superbly decorated with period furniture but, get this, there is a reclining massage chair in every room and one in the great room on the first floor. Ah, that chair felt so good after a day of hiking to photo op locations in the canyons and hills in the area.

And, unlike many restored older homes used as B&B's the schoolhouse did not have the overdone cloying potpourri scents so prevalent in other locations.

Breakfasts (served at 8:30) are enjoyable social events with great meals. Don't be in a hurry to get away. Linger over another cup of coffee and exchange tales of sites seen, trails hiked, photos taken, etc.

Find a reason to stay here.

BTW - for dinner try Cafe Diablo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Restored schoolhouse beautifully remodeled. Each room tastefully decorated. Great view of the mountains from our room. Perfect spot to stop prior to starting your trip down scenic Highway 12. We left early and so never had breakfast, which was a 0800 with no early option. Chuck Wagon General Store a block away had great coffee and croissants. Visit would have been better if we had been greeted by the host.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The owner did a superb restoration of what must have been a wreck of an old school. The building is furnished with some very nice antiques and decorated with old books and photos of classes from the distant past.

The rooms are adequately furnished, and the beds are comfortable. The Sharper Image massage chairs in each room are a unique amenity.

The second floor rooms have reasonable outside light and are probably best in the summer. The third floor rooms are flooded with light and have great views Likely they are at their best spring and fall. I suspect that summer finds them a little too hot.

Heating an old building of this size is a real problem. Space heaters are provided in the rooms and they keep them quite comfortable. A pellet stove kept the large lounge (possibly the former auditorium / gym) at a pleasant temperature

The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have reasonable outside light and are probably best in the summer. The third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I spent one night and this incredible facility. What a pleasure to be a lucky guest to experience the schoolhouse so remarkably restored. What an amazing job, Ty the owner, did to create a place so beautiful and peaceful. The building has been restored from top to bottom. We almost changed our plans to stay another night. The breakfast featured food grown in Ty's own gardens and orchard. The location to Capitol Reef is perfect and there are many great places in town to eat. Ty recommended the "Diablo Café" and we left after a remarkable meal wanting to go back again and again. It's a must. Many of the folks at the B&B had dined there multiple nights. Probably, the nicest B&B we've ever stayed at. Everyone was in awe of the beauty of the rooms and common space. I would definitely return when we venture to southern Utah again.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor was not only the largest but had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a treacherous motorcycle ride through the mountains in the dark, cold rain. We were freezing when we finally arrived and so glad we had reserved our room in advance! The town, Escalante, had quickly booked up. We stayed in the Chinle Room. It had all the amenities we needed for a comfortable night's rest. The breakfast downstairs was delicious, my favorites were the poached eggs, bacon and fresh fruit. Everyone was so helpful as we were on our way to Capitol Reef. We had some motorcycle problems and did not have the correct tools. The owner was nice enough to lend my husband some tools to get us on our way!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What an amazing space! Ty and company have converted an old schoolhouse into a charming and lovable bed and breakfast. I arrived to find a lovely lady to help me acclimate with the space and recommend a good place for dinner. I stayed in the Writing Room. It was clean and cozy... although a little too old fashioned for my taste, but it reminded me of sleep overs at my grandmothers house which brought back fond memories. And the room had a massage chair in it. It looked like each room had a different amenity. It was great to have access to a room with extra towels and such as well as having a refrigerator and other kitchen stuff (I honestly didn't pay attention about what else was there after I saw the fridge and knew I could chill my water for my hikes the following day). I really enjoyed wandering out in the garden and spending some time out there in the evening on the comfy adirondack chairs. I would suggest adding some outdoor lighting in the garden to further enable enjoyment of it into the evening. Breakfast was great and served with a huge smile! Guests are seated at one of two large dining tables and it was great to spend the morning chatting with folks from around the country about our common experiences in Torrey and at Capitol Reef. I was also pleasantly surprised to share breakfast with a couple from Montreal that I'd met on the trail in the park the day before and catch up with them further.

Room Tip: I only snuck looks into the 2nd floor rooms and from what I could tell all were about the same, so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn

Address: 150 N. Center Street, Torrey, UT 84775
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn provides lodging in a historic pioneer setting. The Inn was once the lifeblood of the whole county, including weekend dances, country bands, boxing matches, sometimes attended by local outlaws including Butch Cassidy. The Inn is close to hiking, biking, scenic trails, horseback riding, tours, and is the perfect base for your next National Park adventure! If you are planning a tour of Bryce Canyon, Canyonlands, or Lake Powell, don't forget to include the diverse and spectacular Capitol Reef National Park on your route! A stay inTorrey to enjoy great food at award-winning restaurants, and to revive yourself with our Sharper Image rolling-action massage-recliners is a special treat. Come and relax and enjoy the historic elegance that awaits you at the Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn!Located in the heart of Torrey, Utah--only minutes from the entrance to Capitol Reef National Park--the Torrey Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn is the most convenient and luxurious lodging accommodation at Capitol Reef. Providing delicious ORGANIC full hot breakfasts, the Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn is also a wellness retreat. It is truly where "Capitol Reef meets comfort!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.