We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat building, but lots of issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn
Save
You added Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn to your Saves list
150 N. Center Street, Torrey, UT 84775   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Torrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Neat building, but lots of issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

While we appreciated the restoration of the schoolhouse, the historic photographs and lovely location, we would agree that this place came up a bit short. There were hairs on the bathroom floor and on the bedding. We called the owner's cell phone in the evening to ask for breakfast earlier since we were the only guests and would have liked to get going a bit earlier. She did not answer, we left a voice message and she never responded so we were stuck with 8:30. When we reserved the room we said we were vegetarians and it was confirmed on our emailed confirmation but when breakfast was served there were three strips of bacon on the plate, Our hostess was gracious about taking back the breakfast and giving us fresh plates, but as we were the only guests this inattention to detail was surprising. I would also agree that the massage chairs are not a value-add if it means there is no where else comfy to sit in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvutah2, Manager at Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Have shared this review with our cleaning staff, and they're ON it! (Grateful for the feedback, but much prefer in REAL time so can be addressed immediately, of course.) And I've NO idea why I didn't receive the voicemail message, but I do love to serve early if only one couple because that benefits me too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    29
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
105
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We totally enjoyed our stay in Torrey, thanks to Ty and her gracious hospitality. While traveling thru Utah, visiting national parks, we chose this B&B for location and could not have been happier. The rooms had a wonderful 'homey' comfortable feel with hand made quilts and the most wonderful massager chair! The bathroom lighting was much better than any hotel/motel or B&B, with scatter rugs just where they should be in the room. There are extra linens available if you want more pillows. The property is lovely & expertly renovated, with lovely furnishings and decor. Ty even recommended a wonderful restaurant in town where we had a fabulous meal. We were completely surprised to find this gem in the middle of this beautiful area. There are several other place to stay in town, but this beautiful place with a beautiful garden was a stand out for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a renovated school house, built in 1916. It is quite large and very nicely decorated. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite (the Arithmetic Room) and it was very, very nice. Every room in the B&B had a full massage chair. The grounds were pretty and peaceful and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice, but there was no selection--just what was prepared. A very nice place to stay, but pricey.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Historic stone schoolhouse which once hosted Butch Cassidy at Saturday night dances now hosts us with rooms which are unique and spacious and include a massaging chair. Take time to stroll the gardens which are beautifully designed and maintained. Breakfast is served at 8:30 sharp so don't be late. Plenty of hotel and motel rooms in Torrey which is close to Capitol Reefs Natl Park but nowhere else offers what you will find at the schoolhouse.

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor cost more but have added windows and best views of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Varied menu great for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. Attentive staff. The five of us have delicious memories.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Owner Ty Markham saved the old Torrey Schoolhouse from demolition and then set about converting it into a tastefully decorated, immaculately kept bed and breakfast. Then she surrounded it with a large and relaxing garden, the ideal place to have a cocktail after a day of hiking. And the breakfast she serves is delicious. She even adjusted it to provide gluten-free offerings for a Celiac. If you go, make sure to ask her about the history of the place and her tales of Butch Cassidy. And if you are Celiac, make sure to give her advance notice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The perfect place to rest after a day in the Park! The room was very comfortable and the house is estremely clean and exquisitely renovated with great furniture and fittings. The garden is immaculate. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn

Address: 150 N. Center Street, Torrey, UT 84775
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn provides lodging in a historic pioneer setting. The Inn was once the lifeblood of the whole county, including weekend dances, country bands, boxing matches, sometimes attended by local outlaws including Butch Cassidy. The Inn is close to hiking, biking, scenic trails, horseback riding, tours, and is the perfect base for your next National Park adventure! If you are planning a tour of Bryce Canyon, Canyonlands, or Lake Powell, don't forget to include the diverse and spectacular Capitol Reef National Park on your route! A stay inTorrey to enjoy great food at award-winning restaurants, and to revive yourself with our Sharper Image rolling-action massage-recliners is a special treat. Come and relax and enjoy the historic elegance that awaits you at the Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn!Located in the heart of Torrey, Utah--only minutes from the entrance to Capitol Reef National Park--the Torrey Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn is the most convenient and luxurious lodging accommodation at Capitol Reef. Providing delicious ORGANIC full hot breakfasts, the Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn is also a wellness retreat. It is truly where "Capitol Reef meets comfort!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.